Small Elm-topped Box

Small box of pernambuco with elm top

I don't recall exactly when this box got made, but it's extremely simple construction. Butt-joints on the corners (marching around the box) and a glued-on top and bottom. The sides, are, I think, pernambuco, which is CITES protected. It was a micro-lumber board I got as part of a larger order, tacking it onto a larger order to push it up to the amount needed for free shipping. The top and bottom are elm which had a knot that I filled with sawdust and CA glue. I think it's a pretty smooth fill, though it's slightly more obvious from the inside.

Small box of pernambuco with elm top

The hardware is black “tansu” hardware from Lee Valley. But when I put it together earlier this year, I didn't have any black screws, so it's got brass screws, which is something of a mismatch. They don't look horrible though.

![Small box of pernambuco with elm top, open](https://i.snap.as/3n31ei04.jpeg)

The box is between 4 and 5 inches, by about 3 tall. Or 9x12x7 or 8 cm for you types who think in base 10. The sides and top are roughly quarter-inch (6mm) thick, and the box is finished with some shellac and some Tried and True Varnish Oil.

#woodworking #box

Discuss... Reply to this in the fediverse: @davepolaschek@writing.exchange