2023 Recap

The “resolutions” failed

Looking at my 2023 wants it only looks like I massively failed on them.
The robust aims were never achieved, I still cannot play chanter and I am as indebted as I was when I left 2022.

There're good reasons for this, primarily we moved house. So after months of making good progress, seriously reducing the debt, we had an opportunity to move house. It was an opportunity that we could not pass up and was one we had relatively short notice on enacting for many reasons of smalls attending school and where school holidays are. This esentially reset my debt reduction.

The chanter? Well it's broken, the smalls discovered it whilst moving boxes and played with it until it broke, can't be helped.

My fluid aims, well none of them happened either. * Flow states remain elusive, this year has been busier and more frantic than I had intended. In every respect it has not helped with stability. This has meant my book reading has not happened either. * Bird photography, camera acquisition both have not occurred. The only caveat to that was purchase of a new phone, a Fairphone 4, because my Fairphone 3 departed after a fall. Its camera is better but not what I was intending, a compact digital.

The successes!

I think the greatest point of personal success is that I managed to conduct quite a few conversations with people in #Gaidhlig this year, even getting on tele twice for work-related interviews.

Moving house is the group success. We moved from a granny-flat to rented detached house with garden, we moved to be closer to place of work and even though it is a more rural place it has better amenities than where we used to live; the difference is that travel to nearest town is now 1 hour instead of 20 minutes.

2024

What do I want for 2024?
I'm not sure really. I would like to have a functional garden, one that produces colour, scent and perhaps food.
I would like to restart playing some sports, I've got some badminton shoes and racquets laying around, it'd be nice to use them again.

I would truly like to be debt-free but that's something that'll happen a few years down the line, so until then I'd like to see it reduced a lot. We've no house move planned or wanted for so we should not have large expenditure like that this year.