LongHouseLife

trees

#knoydart #permaculture #garden #trees

Down in the Dell I have started to coppice the old Ash bole. I’ve taken out the thinner (< 3”) poles so far, a new saw blade required to cut the larger poles. I am going to use the straighter sections as fence posts eventually. I’ll strip the bark, let them dry out then scorch the part that will be in the ground with a blow-torch (Shou-Sugi-Ban). The brash I have cut to kindling size and it’s stored in the wood shed to dry out.

Read more...

#knoydart #permaculture #trees

Oaks sown directly into pots and in to the cold frame until Spring.

Hazel, Maple, Birch and Scots Pine are in a 50:50 mix in the bottom of the fridge for the next month; from when they will be sown into pots and into the cold frame.

Read more...

#knoydart #permaculture #garden #trees

The woodshed is now completely full – approx 1⁄2 to 2⁄3 full in these images.

Apart from a random piece of Sycamore all the wood is Larch. Sourced from three 20 – 30m trees that were felled, end of August, on the plot

I also have another woodstore along the north side of the house wall, around 1m x.75m x 5m completely full.

Down in the copse there is still approx 4m3+/– more sawn rounds to yet split. With some Ash and Sycamore that I will fell this winter the Long House should have enough split firewood to last a minimum of 4 – 6 winters.