Non-Monetized Together #svalien

childhood

This article can also be viewed at https://medium.com/non-monetized-together/the-age-someone-gets-diagnosed-with-autism-matters-086bdb729d2e.

The autism experience can mean many different things, and the age of diagnosis is one of the reasons for this. As someone who was diagnosed early, I noticed that my life experience is very different from people who were diagnosed as adults.

For example, I don’t have a negative attitude towards masking, or hiding my autistic traits, because I’ve always known that it’s something I can turn off and on when necessary.

People who were diagnosed as adults did not have that knowledge growing up. Since they didn’t know they were autistic, they didn’t know that too much masking can be unhealthy for them. As a result, they usually tried masking all the time so they could fit into society. This is why they dislike masking so much.

Another difference is that I’m content with the fact that I need to work harder than neurotypicals in order to catch up to them. It’s my default way of approaching my life.

Yet this has a more negative connotation for those diagnosed late. When someone doesn’t know they have a neurological condition, they can feel frustrated and confused as to why they aren’t as successful as their peers who put in the same amount of effort and come from a similar background. It’s only when they get diagnosed do they realize they have to put in more effort.

Even after they find this out, it’s disheartening that they spent all those years unaware of this, so they can be bitter about the fact that they need to try harder.

Since I was diagnosed early, I was fortunate enough not to have this experience, and so there’s no reason for me to have a problem with putting in extra effort.

There’s one more difference I’ll share with you. Because I’m autistic, I had trouble figuring things out on my own as a child, so I had to rely a lot on listening to what adults had to say in order to learn about how the world works. This helped me get in the habit of being eager to hear other people’s perspectives and make something meaningful from them. This interest of mine inspired me to create Nonmonetized Together.

Meanwhile, those who were diagnosed late grew up surrounded by people who weren’t considering their autistic perspective when talking to them. These autistic people weren’t getting much use out of what society had to tell them, and this could result in them not being as open to hearing what others have to say.

So don’t ever compare me to people who get diagnosed as adults. My life is a lot different than theirs.

EDIT: I just wanted to mention how grateful I am that this article got some discussion and that it resonated with people. It has restored my hope in Nonmonetized Together, the movement this article is a part of. I was originally planning on ending the Nonmonetized Together publication in the near future because even though it was getting a lot of views, very few people were reacting to the articles or getting involved in the Nonmonetized Together community. I began questioning whether people were interested in using the original concepts behind Nonmonetized Together to achieve their own goals. Because of the response this article has gotten from readers, I have reversed my decision and decided to continue posting on here. Thank you!

To learn about Nonmonetized Together, read this: https://write.as/non-monetized-together/about-our-blog-tired-of-internet-drama-and-fakeness

#Autism #LifeExperience #Neurodiversity #Childhood

Discuss...

Medium comments:

I guess late diagnosed people are not bitter because they only found out late that they need to work much harder, they are bitter because of missed opportunities and wrong life choices, because of not knowing what was a realistic goal. I would have chosen some other degree to pursue and I don’t know if having 3 kids was smart… I’ve got the wrong career and I’ve hated myself not being able to give love only to my 3 kids.

Lotjeknorrie

Yeah, that's a better way of putting it. It's obvious to someone when they're falling behind others, what's less obvious is what they need to do next. Thank you for explaining that.

Kevin the Nonmonetized

syndey RaeUnsplash

You can also view this article at https://medium.com/@non-monetized_together/dont-be-one-of-those-grown-ups-screwing-up-the-world-17c3e24cdabf.

If the child version of you could see the person you are now, would they think you’re one of the grown-ups who are screwing up the world? As you got older, did you remember the promise you made as a child, that you would be the one to fix things up? Are you passing up the opportunity to turn your dreams into reality?

At the moment, are you working to fulfill the hopes and dreams your child self hoped to achieve as an adult? Or are you avoiding letting them come to fruition, wasting all that excitement you used to have? Are you letting down your child self? Are you ignoring their needs and emotions?

Are you letting down today’s children? Are you setting a good example for them, inspiring them to make their dreams become a reality? Do you think about how your decisions can help children get what they want, and how your decisions will shape people’s lives after you die?

Discuss...

What is svalien?

#VibeCheck #SelfReflection #Success #Childhood #Motivation