I Liked Jazz Even Before I Liked Jazz

Diagram of Desargues' theorem, by Jujutacular

Yesterday I decided to integrate arpeggios into So What as a improvisation exercise rather than practice scales. The best arpeggios I know of are John Coltrane's improvisational solos. They are condense, intense and mind-expanding.

A great example is in A Love Supreme, Pt.II – Resolution. It gives me an adrenaline rush every time I hear it. Coltrane's improvisation starts at :52 until 1:14. It's a labyrinth of notes, a sonic theorem. He then hands it off to McCoy Tyner who improvises one of the greatest piano solos of all time. Check out the off-time chords starting at 2:23!

Coltrane's sax solos remind me of Page Hamilton's guitar solos in Helmet. During my nu-metal days Helmet were my favorite band because their guitar chord progressions and solos had a mathy, geometric ferocity to it. Page said many times his main influence was John Coltrane, a claim I initially found perplexing. Now I can totally see the resemblance in songs like You Borrowed, Turned Out, Wilma's Rainbow and many more.

In fact, today I found an interview where Page admits to transcribing John Coltrane solos to guitar !

So my insight today is I love compositions that twist and triangulate around a tonal center, and apparently always have. Jazz has this in abundance, and Helmet borrowed that element to great effect. Now I'm going back to the source.

Time bookstanding today: 40 minutes Quality of meditation (out of 10): 7


You can follow this blog via twitter or by RSS in your favorite RSS feed reader. I also send out the occassional newsletter.