Roscoe's Quick Notes

QNAPR2024

That back yard project that has been pestering me for the past week was finally completed today. Whew! I'll sleep easier tonight!

posted Tuesday, Apr 30, 2024 at ~9:05 PM #QNAPR2024

Monday evening and I'm once again wiped out. Two work sessions out in the back yard, cutting branches, cutting down small trees, clearing out foliage: an hour in the morning, and 2 and a half hours in the afternoon.

posted Monday, Apr 29, 2024 at ~6:20 PM #QNAPR2024

Winding down a productive and pleasant Sunday. Though I stayed up later than I should have on Saturday night, watching a live broadcast of San Antonio's 2024 Fiesta Flambeau Parade, I woke reasonably rested. While eating a gigantic breakfast, I worked through a mountain of chess games.

Early afternoon found me assembling a new cordless electric pole saw. After that I came inside and followed a MLB game then coverage of a PGA Golf tourney.

Drinking my evening tea (Sleepy Time herbal) now, I'm anticipating an earlier bedtime tonight, and a peaceful sleep.

posted Sunday, Apr 28, 2024 at ~20:00 #QNAPR2024

Watching pre-parade special shows before live coverage of tonight's 2024 San Antonio Flambeau Parade. If I keep watching till the end, I'll be up way past my bedtime. But I can sleep late tomorrow morning, so I ought to be okay.

posted Saturday, Apr 27, 2024 at ~6:25 PM #QNAPR2024

This morning I proved to myself that I'm unable to cut the needed back yard tree branches with my old manual tools. Spent an hour and a half trying, but no go.

Tomorrow I'll finish assembling the new cordless electric pole saw and maybe by Sunday or Monday, depending on the weather, I'll work on those trees again.

posted Friday, Apr 26, 2024 at ~2:40 PM #QNAPR2024

This Thursday is definitely a “recovery” day. All the physical work I did yesterday in the alley and on the back fence bushes wore me out. I woke this morning still feeling drained, and sore.

Yesterday I ordered a cordless electric pole saw to use on those tree branches that need to come down. I do have 2 manual pole saw tools, one set up with a saw blade, the other with a snip-style cutter. They both work fine, I've used them in the past. But I no longer have the strength and energy to use them effectively. I certainly couldn't use them to do the work needed in the time allotted me.

Earlier today the cordless electric pole saw arrived. Now I need to get some safety goggles and heavy work gloves to use with the chain saw. Found some on Amazon and ordered them, they should arrive tomorrow. The adventure continues.

posted Thursday, Apr 25, 2024 at ~2:29 PM #QNAPR2024

Surprise yard work this afternoon. City compliance officer knocked on my front door late morning and handed me a ticket. I was given 10 days to trim the bushes growing out of my back fence and mow the grass on my half of the alley. And I need to trim some of the tree branches reaching out into the alley so there will be at least 14 ft. of clearance. The officer told me not to feel like the Lone Ranger. He showed me a stack of tickets he had yet to deliver to neighbors down the street and across the alley. Complicating matters, out of these 10 days, we're supposed to have thunderstorms on 7 of them. So... this afternoon I trimmed all the foliage poking out of that back fence, and I mowed my part of the alley.

Next up will be pole saw work as I try to take care of those tree branches.

posted Wed Apr 2024 ~20:10 #QNAPR2024

Massive insomnia last night. Think I got maybe 3 hours total sleep. And that has left me pretty foggy all day despite the mid-morning nap I was able to grab.

Hopefully I'll be able to sleep well tonight.

posted Tuesday, Apr 23, 2024 at ~2:15 PM #QNAPR2024

Early Monday afternoon and I've already knocked out my weekly laundry. I have time left to do some yard work. And the weather is nice. Good.

posted Monday, Apr 22, 2024 at ~1:20 PM #QNAPR2024

This Sunday starts slowly and well. The Sun is shining brightly and a cooler day is in the forecast. It may hit 70 later this afternoon, but at least it's supposed to be dry.

I've got MLB games to follow from Noon on. The Rangers play a night game and that will probably be the last thing on my TV before head hits pillow tonight.

posted Sunday, Apr 21, 2024 at ~11:30 AM #QNAPR2024