Roscoe's Quick Notes

QNMAY2024

Ya' know, I can remember a time, not that many years ago, when I could mow both the front and back yards, trim the front yard, and police up the alley behind the back fence all in one day with energy to spare. But that was then.

This morning I trimmed the front yard and I'm seriously drained. Last weekend I mowed the back yard and looked at the alley. I'm hoping to have enough energy built back up to mow the front yard some day next week. Sheeesh! But I can remember...

posted Saturday, May 18, 2024 at ~4:40 PM #QNMAY2024

My schedule today has been thrown off kilter through my own fault. Usually I work on my chess games immediately after the morning prayers. Today I listened to a long (ish) discussion after the prayers, putting my chess work two hours later than is normal. Didn't work out too well. I'm SUCH a creature of habit!

posted Friday, May 17, 2024 at ~4:45 PM #QNMAY2024

Sleepytime herbal tea bag is steeping in the cup. I like to give it at least 10 min. to get good and strong before I fish it out of the cup, stir in a packet of Splenda, let it cool, then sip it slowly. One of the little rituals I try to follow every night as I get myself ready for bed.

posted Thursday May 16, 2024 ~19:55 #QNMAY2024

Listening to relaxing music, leisure reading until tonight's Rangers game, about an hour from now. The team is going through an early season slump. I think last night's loss was the fifth or sixth in a row. Sure could use a win right now.

posted Wednesday, May 15, 2024 at ~6:10 PM #QNMAY2024

Mid-afternoon of another easy, slow-moving day. Watching PGA Tour Golf on TV at the moment, looking forward to watching tonight's Svengoolie.

Last night's sleep was longer than normal and very restful. Wish they could all be like that.

posted Saturday, May 11, 2024 at ~2:30 PM #QNMAY2024

Mid-afternoon of a slow moving Friday. Low on energy, so I'm not doing any yard work today. All this day's MLB games seem to be night games, and I'm a good two hours away from being able to tune in the first of them. Leisure reading with relaxing music playing in the background may be a good plan for now.

posted Friday, May 10, 2024 at 3:03 PM #QNMAY2024

Q-B checkmate

Earlier this afternoon I won a chess game with this nifty Queen – Bishop combination checkmate.

posted Thursday 09/May/2024 ~16:30 #QNMAY2024

Gray, hot, and humid weather outside, so I'm inside under the a/c, working on my chess, and listening to baseball. Thankful for what I have, and doing my best not to worry about things that are out of my control.

posted Wednesday, May 8, 2024 at 3:55 PM #QNMAY2024

Had a very productive morning and spent the rest of the day comfortably recuperating.

Was hijacked by an unexpected nap after breakfast, and surprised myself by how long I slept. After waking I worked on all my chess games, then spent a solid hour and a half cutting branches and clearing brush by the back fence. So this makes two days in a row of pretty serious (for this 75 y/o man) physical work outside.

The uncommonly busy morning (nap and work) forced me to move prayers I usually do in the morning to the afternoon, but that worked out well.

posted Tuesday 07/May/2024 ~19:20 #QNMAY2024

Exhausted, as I should be. This afternoon I mowed the front yard. Rather than complain about how wiped out that little bit of exercise made me, I should be happy that I was able to do it. Most of last year the arthritic hips had me totally sidelined from that chore. Though doing it drains me, at least I'm able to manage it by myself again now.

posted Monday, May 6, 2024 at ~5:03 PM #QNMAY2024