Roscoe's Quick Notes

qndec2023

My New Years Eve Plans.

NYE-Plans

The above graphic shows how I may very well be spending New Years Eve when the calendar rolls over to 2024. Actually, the way my new year is shaping up, this is how much of my new year will look.

Though the cartoon shows lichess, one of the online chess clubs where I play, it's more likely that I'll be looking at 365 chess, the online database where I store most of my more serious games for study when I choose not to be actively playing.

The other clubs where I have active games include, Scheming Mind, Game Knot, and the ICCF.

posted Sunday 31/Dec/2023 ~15:20 #QNDEC2023

And this is Saturday. It's been a good one, all things considered. A happy day with the wife, and tomorrow's her birthday. I expect it to be a good one too.

posted Saturday 30/Dec/2023 ~21:06 #QNDEC2023

As this Friday draws to a close it leaves me with a sense of satisfaction. I didn't accomplish everything I'd hoped to, but I handled most of it. And for the work that remains there is tomorrow. No problem.

posted Friday 29/Dec/2023 ~2040 #QNDEC2023

Okay, now we're in business. Amazon just delivered a wireless mouse, so now I can use this little laptop in the front room without having to disconnect the mouse from one of the computers back in my room and schlepping it up here to connect to this little guy. Makes my life just that much easier. Five dollars well spent.

posted Thursday, Dec 28, 2023 at 2:16 PM #QNDEC2023

College football Bowl Season will be providing me background entertainment this afternoon and evening with the Military Bowl coverage starting at 13:00, then the Mayo Bowl at 16:30. If I'm so inclined, there is also the Texas Bowl starting at 20:00, but by then I will probably be shutting things down and getting ready for bed.

Posted Wednesday, Dec 27, 2023 at 10:58 AM #QNDEC2023

I pray every morning, too.

A friend on Free Atlantis greeted me this morning with a short comment about her morning prayer, and I told her I'd post her back with a comment on my morning prayer routine.

The short reply is that every morning when I roll out from under the covers, as soon as my feet hit the floor I pray the Prayer to St. Michael the Archangel, the short exorcism prayer.

Almost always, as my morning develops, I'll pray The Angelus and five Decades of the Holy Rosary. before Noon. Then at Noon it'll be time for The Angelus again. These, and my other prayers throughout the day are logged daily at my Roscoe's Story blog.

At night, after I've finished the Hour of Compline, with all its prayers, hymns, scripture readings, etc. and the assigned prayers of the Association of the Auxilium Christianorum, and whatever leisure reading I do, it's time to put head to pillow.. Closing my eyes, I slowly and silently pray an Our Father, 3 Hail Mary's, and one Glory Be, repeated as needed before drifting off to sleep. (That's my version of counting sheep. Heh.)

posted Tuesday 26/Dec/2023 ~14:10 #QNDEC2023

1st note on my new Standard Note app.

I'm looking forward to using this app regularly, but it will take some time to work it into my ecosystem. Eventually it will replace Google Keep. But that will probably be months down the road.

posted Monday 25/Dec/2023 ~12:30 #QNDEC2023

December 24th ~ Christmas Eve

O GOD, Who dost gladden us year by year with the expectation of our redemption, grant that we, who now with joy receive Thine only begotten Son as our Redeemer, may behold Him also without fear, when He cometh as our judge, our Lord Jesus Christ.

Who with Thee liveth and reigneth in the unity of the Holy Ghost, God, world without end. Amen. ~~~~~~ DEUS, qui nos redemptiónis nostræ ánnua exspectatióne læ tificas: præsta; ut Unigénitum tuum, quem Redemptórem læti suscípimus, veniéntem quoque júdicem secúri videámus, Dóminum nostrum Jesum Christum Filium tuum.

Qui tecum vivit et regnat in unitate Spíritus Sancti, Deus, per ómnia sǽcula sæculórum. Amen.

Collect, December 24, Christmas Eve

~ The New Roman Missal, 1937

Found posted on Telegram at: https://t.me/catholictower/8721

posted Sunday 24/Dec/2023 ~05:10 #QNDEC2023

Strategy and Tactics!

posted Saturday 23/Dec/2023 ~08:25 #QNDEC2023

Most of my Friday has been spent waiting. This being the Advent Season, that seems appropriate. One thing I was waiting for was the delivery of a case of wine, part of the Christmas present from my daughter. The delivery company said it was on the truck on its way to me and I should expect it any time between 10:30 AM and 2:30 PM. So I waited, and waited... finally at nearly 7:00 PM my wine was delivered.

posted Friday 22/Dec/2023 ~20:30 #QNDEC2023