Original Song: I don't need to be afraid

Illustration of "The Trusting Child" Illustration of “The Trusting Child”, a poem by Lydia Sigourney

This is a new song I have started writing about two weeks ago. The inspiration came on the epiano with the first verse. It outlines our frail nature and the idea what will happen when we depart from this world. It's about faith and doubt, about fear and trust.

Edit: I have transferred my songs to a another website. You can find this song and a more recent demo here now: https://reto.nom.za/music/songs.html#I%20don't%20need%20to%20be%20afraid

Lyrics

When I depart from this world You're close by my side I've got nothing to hide From you

I don't need to be afraid I don't need to be afraid 'cause you're waiting on me 'til I reach the end

You see me right through You make me anew You close the gap You rescue me It's true

I don't need to be afraid I don't need to be afraid 'cause you're waiting on me 'til I reach the end

I'm just a mortal Like a leaf in the wind Blown all around Never reaching the ground I'm found

When I seek your face When I wait on your grace When I keep up the faith 'til I reach the end

I'm still on this path I'm still on this journey The years they are passing me By

And I wonder where The road will lead me on And I wonder when I will reach the end

Stitting on a bench Out in the park The sun is rising A new day is dawning On me

And I wonder what it will bring What song I will sing What bells that will ring When I reach the end

Demo

I played this with my Thomann epiano. The voice went through a crappy dynamic mic and a small amp. I used the MIDI signal to add some string voicings and bass. All in all not a bad take. Some small mistakes here there.

#song #demo #original #singersongwriter #piano