Reto

religion

I've seen it. I've seen people that think to hear God's voice and they take it seriously. They destroy other people's lives. In evangelical denominations it's quite common that the leaders emphasize hearing God's voice and they even encourage people to do it.

Read more...

"Worship" sculpture by Ralph Stackpole “Worship” sculpture by Ralph Stackpole

I was a Christian in the evangelical sense for a long time and I was fooled a lot by what I call the religious spirit. The religious spirit is a sort of energy – or maybe it's really a spirit, I don't know.

What I know is that certain people harbor this “religious spirit”. When I come into contact with them or watch their sermons I get touched – and I often have to cry quickly. Before I always thought that this is the holy spirit's work and hence I believed it to be a sign for the truth.

Read more...