Kellyn Delgado

social

A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step. — Lao Tzu

I'm just going to come out and say this from the outset, I am a mess. Does that make me special? Hardly. I think we all are complete messes. The idea that anyone isn't a mess is just a fantasy created by (ugh) Facebook et el. Being a mess, I find it difficult to get started on new projects. I mean, it's not impossible for me but it's certainly not easy. There are so many things I want to be able to do that I can't seem to get a jump start on for one reason or another. Maybe it's because there's no real way to make money from it (Damn you Capitalism! Look what you reduced me to!) or maybe I'm a perfectionist who wants everything to look as good as possible. Perhaps I think the words that come out of my mouth (or in this case the keyboard) are going to be stupid? I feel like I'm alone in this but I have to keep reminding myself that I couldn't possibly be the only one with these dilemmas. After all, it is quite logical that you dear reader might find these words resonating with you somehow.

The thing is, we as humans all have the need and desire to create and not just consume as the rich perverts would have you believe. It's perfectly fine to want to start a project and make something cool. Is it going to be cool to everyone? No. Is it going to make money? Probably not. Is it going change the world? Hell no. But will it be fulfilling? I would guess that if it involves something you're passionate about, it most likely will. We all need hobbies, something to make that gives value to someone else or maybe just you. In this day and age we have too many thoughts in our heads and we just have to let them out into the void. Maybe someone will listen or maybe not. But the important thing is that you are doing what humans do best. Share. Create. Express yourself. This is why I am making this personal blog. And even though it took me several months to finally getting around to writing a new post on it, at least I took a step in expressing myself for once. I keep a lot of things bottled up inside and that can create pressure which can lead to pain. The pain leads to sadness, anger, and resentment. It's not pretty. It doesn't have to be useful to everyone, it just needs to be you and it will resonate with someone.

So long story short, just start. Whether it's writing a blog like this one, starting a podcast, creating a video or a new business venture, the first step is usually the most powerful step you can make. I don't think I'd be where I am today if it wasn't for me at least taking one step forward. Once to you take that step, take another one after that. And keep taking steps. Eventually, you'll find that the journey is more interesting than your apparent destination.

#personal #rant #creativity #humans #social