sercraig

microsoft

A Dark Theme or a Dark Mode is being added to apps and operating systems with increased frequency. Apple has it, Twitter has it, and an update from #Microsoft late last year added it to #Windows 10.

There are supposed benefits to Dark Mode. Anecdotally, my eyes have not felt as tired once I started using it on my work computer.

To enable the Dark Theme on your Windows 10 computer:

  • Select Start > Settings > Personalization > Colors.
  • Scroll down and select the Dark radio button under Choose your default app mode.

The windows and titles bars will now be all black. This took some getting used to, as I often had to do double-takes to locate the minimize/maximize/close icons. Then I enabled additional options to make the title bars and borders a different color so they stand out more:

  • Toggle Transparency effects to On.
  • Select the Title bars and windows borders check box under Show accent color on the following surfaces.

A friend shared this Medium story with me. It's too good not to mention here. Basically: Avoid trash, refocus, read.

EDIT (adding because it deserves attention): This Gizmodo piece on cutting the Facebook, Amazon, Google, Apple, and Microsoft out of your life.

2nd EDIT (because I can't believe I forgot this): Microsoft cybersecurity expert says not to use Internet Explorer.

I currently have a small stack of For Dummies books from the library next to my side of the bed: Artificial Intelligence, Blockchain, Algorithms, and Machine Learning.

#reading #microsoft #google #amazon #apple #facebook