sercraig

google

Gmail is my main email account of choice; I'm one of many. In October 2018, #Google announced the service has over 1.5 billion users.

You can add a signature to your account so that a quote, additional contact details, or website links appear on every message you send. There are different setup processes for your account accessed on a desktop/laptop computer and a mobile device.

Note: The following applies to personal @gmail.com addresses. A separate process is used for business email hosted through G Suite.

Gmail via a desktop/laptop computer

  • Open #Gmail. In the upper-right corner, click the Settings gear icon and select Settings in the resulting context menu.
  • Scroll down under the General settings to the Signature section.
  • Tick the radio button for the signature and then enter your text. A rich text editor allows you to change the font, insert a picture, use a link, and more.
  • Scroll to the bottom of the screen and select Save Changes.

iOS Gmail app

  • Open the Gmail app on your #iOS device.
  • Tap the Menu icon (three bars).
  • Scroll to the bottom of the options, and then tap Settings.
  • Tap your account to open it (should be the first item on the screen).
  • Tap Signature settings.
  • Swipe the Mobile Signature setting to On. A field will appear where you can enter your signature.
  • Tap the Back button to save.

Android Gmail app

  • Open the Gmail app on your #Android device.
  • Tap the Menu icon (three bars).
  • Scroll to the bottom of the options, and then tap Settings.
  • Select the Google Account where you want to add a signature.
  • Tap Mobile Signature.
  • Enter your signature.
  • Tap OK to save.

A friend shared this Medium story with me. It's too good not to mention here. Basically: Avoid trash, refocus, read.

EDIT (adding because it deserves attention): This Gizmodo piece on cutting the Facebook, Amazon, Google, Apple, and Microsoft out of your life.

2nd EDIT (because I can't believe I forgot this): Microsoft cybersecurity expert says not to use Internet Explorer.

I currently have a small stack of For Dummies books from the library next to my side of the bed: Artificial Intelligence, Blockchain, Algorithms, and Machine Learning.

#reading #microsoft #google #amazon #apple #facebook

A message arrived in my inbox today from the Google+ Team. It seems April 2, 2019 is the official day that consumer/personal accounts will be shut down.

If anyone still has content there, you should download it to save it. Instructions to complete this can be found here.

Given this deadline, it makes me wonder if #Google's April Fools' Day prank will be “just kidding, Google+ is here to stay!”

I recently happened across an interesting gallery on ZDNet that presents the many different Chromium-based browsers. The most commonly known and widely used #Chromium browser is #Google #Chrome. But if you like to try out new software (it me) and prefer the look and feel of Chrome but are concerned with Google's data collection practices (it me 'gain) you can try these browsers out as alternatives.

In the past I was partial to #Firefox, and then used Chrome when it was shiny and new. These days Firefox is my default browser at work; its Quantum iteration is fast and offers a wide variety of extensions.

Over the last few days, thanks to the aforementioned gallery, I am trialing the Epic Privacy Browser. This browser is dedicated to protecting your privacy and data. I'm using it now as I type this post on my Windows 10 laptop and am very happy with it so far. It shows in real-time how many trackers it blocks when you navigate to websites. Curious to see how it run on my MacBook Pro at home.

Shout out to Vivaldi, too. They're doing good things in that browser.