Vanessa Glau

teaceremony

I have wanted to write about my #teaceremony practice for the longest time but did not have a clue what to say. Japanese tea ceremony is something to be experienced, as I learned quickly, not something you can learn by reading books or even watching videos. You should find a teacher near you and practice regularly if at all possible. Eventually I determined that short of hosting a tea demonstration myself which is hard to do in written form, I will have to settle for an anecdotal collection of observations: what happens in the margins, little things that add to the whole and that might not be obvious to the casual observer.

Weiterlesen...

Welcome, curious traveler, to this corner of the web!

I write speculative fiction. I translate literature and videogames. I am a Japanophile fueled by coffee and green tea. I practice Japanese tea ceremony in the Urasenke tradition.

Topics I frequently write about on this blog are #writing #NaNoWriMo #sciencefiction #science #Japan #teaceremony

Reach out to me on Twitter or Instagram or check out my print publications (in German) if you like.