veronica.

videogames

I did it.

I fucking did it.

I beat Spider-Man for the PS4 AND I obtained all the trophies. Yes, I finally 100%'d a game. Platinum trophy baby!

I'm so proud of myself. I'm not the trophy hunter, but nonetheless, I'm proud because I beat the game in four days and beat it completely. 100%.

But the game made it so fun to get those trophies that I couldn't help it. Okay, yes, there were a lot of moments of frustration, especially with the Sable battles, but God, the game kept me on my toes and made me hungry for more.

It's by no means perfect. To be honest, I was hoping for more side quests. But the story itself? Once I got to the third act, I was itching to finish and see the ending and oh boy, did I get rewarded. That ending? Broke me. Otto and Peter had such a good relationship so when it broke down like that? I could not stop crying. It was beautiful. It was painful. I have to give props to the actors themselves because they really sold it for me. The emotions just overwhelmed me.

But what really sent me over the edge was the sequence with Aunt May and Peter. Oh my God. I was sobbing. Already wounded from the Otto and Peter confrontation, the ending for Aunt May and Peter just made the tears flow even harder. It was more than painful. It hit me right in my heart and made it cry.

Even worse is that the game kept at it, too. The final, final post game cutscene with Norman and Harry? Jesus Christ. While it was nothing compared to the May and Peter cutscene, the one between father and son just punched me right in the gut.

But it's those post game cutscenes that leave me wondering about the future: will Insomniac Games make another Spider-Man game? Truth be told, I hope they do. I wouldn't mind it if it focuses on Miles, but I'd definitely love to see these devs take another bite of the apple.

#spiderman #videogames #digitaljournalpost