Roscoe's Story

books

New on my Kindle

Rafael

Rafael, Laurell Hamilton's latest novel in her Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter series was delivered to my Kindle today. And I'm looking forward to starting it tonight.

This is the 28th book in the series and, while I may not have read every one of them, I'm confident that I've read most. I've certainly read all the early books as well as everything she's published in recent years.

At only 230 something pages long, this little book is almost in the novella category. Some reviewers have said it reminds them of her earlier books in this series. I'm confident I'll like it.

And the adventure continues.

Posted 09/Feb/2021 ~ 20: Central Time #RoscoeEllis #blog #SeniorLiving #books



by Roscoe

Two books open at the moment

I seem to have fallen into an old habit, one that has given me a certain sense of comfort many times in the past. Sometimes for years at a time before circumstances pulled me away from it. I'm reading two books at a time, one fiction and the other non-fiction.

The Gunpowder Coast is a science-fiction novel I've just started and am enjoying quite a bit. Loaded onto my Kindle, this is a book I can comfortably read in bed or anywhere else I happen to be.

The Gunpowder Coast

The other book I'm working through is an RMS Emacs Manual. Those of you familiar with these things know it's an over-sized 800-page brute of a book. I've got it in paperback rather than hardback but it's not the kind of thing you carry around. And it's not what anyone would call light reading. Solidly settled in my home office next to my computers, this will probably take me the rest of this year to work through. Maybe longer.

Emacs Manual

The science fiction book will certainly be finished first and replaced by others while I continue to work through the Emacs Manual. But this reading pattern will help divert my mind from the ridiculous news cycle that always proves to be so embarrassing during a Presidential Election year.

And the adventure continues.

Posted on 20 May 2020, this is my 21/100/365 of the https://100daystooffload.com blogging challenge.

#100DaysToOffload #books


by Roscoe