andreas

deletefacebook

A special one for all people at writing.exchange

I usually do this in swedish so please be patience, the writing might not be the greatest. But I want to do this in english just to pay some respect to the people behind write.as and the writing.exchange community. I’ve been blogging for many years, mostly personal stuff about everyday life and things I see and think about. I’ve tried all the big services; Wordpress, Blogger, Medium as well as Postach.io and Posterous. I like the promise that Posthaven have made and I am a paying Posthaven user since last year or so. I have a blog going over there you’re welcome to check out if you’re into reading swedish. This last week I got my eyes on Write.as and couldn’t stop myself from signing up. This is simplicity at it’s best! No hassle so far. And the Snap.as service for pictures (I really thought I would find it annoying) is actually neat. In my work as a journalist focused on a web audience I am not close to #deletefacebook but I find Facebook to be more and more a professional tool than a way to hang out with friends and be personal. However I find the discission of avoiding Facebook, Twitter and the big internet giants interesting. Via Write.as I got to hear about Mastodon and the fediverse, two things I’ve never heard of before. Maybe because neither of them seem to be a big thing in Sweden, yet.

So, now I have introduced myself. If you all go happy bananas of this I might be doing english blog posts again, otherwise I think I’ll stick to my native language.

I am writing this piece on my Iphone sitting at the kitchen table in the small old house in the countryside that me and my wife and three kids are renting for weekends and semesters. It’s a place where the urban distractions are none, where there is no water closet (just an old fashioned outhouse), no shower and no tv. It’s fantastic. This is what i looks like.

#torplife

Bye for now, Ajes

#writing.exchange #personal