Stabilizing Wood – #4 Second Batch

I stabilized another batch of wood Christmas weekend of 2018. It included: butternut, salt cedar, cherry, citrus, spalted elm, eucalyptus, hackberry, ipe, African mahogany, hard maple, spalted maple, white oak, pear, and walnut.

List of the woods in the second batch, as in the text above

I made a list, so I wouldn't forget. Especially before sanding off the excess cactus juice, it can be hard to tell what's what.

And here they are:

Butternut, salt cedar, cherry, citrus, spalted elm, eucalyptus, hackberry, ipe

ipe, khaya, hard maple, spalted maple, white oak, pear, and walnut

Butternut through ipe in the first photo, and ipe through walnut in the second. No huge surprises. Ipe remains hard and hard to work when stabilized. The eucalyptus I got from AZWoody is very pretty, as is the spalted maple I got from HokieKen. Butternut remains a favorite. Mahogany (khaya) and pear will both probably find their way into future projects.

Next up, dyeing and pore-filling. Oak and khaya are both interesting to me, especially if I get cool colors. And the citrus isn't quite as yellow as I'd hoped, but I'll keep playing with that.


Contents

#woodworking #stabilizing

Discuss... Reply to this in the fediverse: @davepolaschek@writing.exchange