davepolaschek

plant

Tahoka Daisy, aka Tansyleaf tansyaster, aka Machaeranthera tanacetifolia

In the past couple days, we’ve had some purple flowers appearing. They’re known as a Tahoka Daisy, or the tansyleaf tansyaster. They’re kind of pretty and hardy here. Guess we’ve got another plant that I need to recognize and not kill as a weed.

I wonder if we were out of town when they bloomed last year, or if I just didn’t notice them. Hard to say for sure. Last year, I thought chamisa in bloom was kinda pretty. This year, it’s just a source of allergens.

#photography #NewMexico #plant

Discuss... Reply to this in the fediverse: @davepolaschek@writing.exchange

Cholla with yellow fruits and a cloudy sky in the background.

On my morning walk today, I noticed this cholla with its yellow fruits. It was a nice splash of color on a cloudy morning, and something I remember seeing here on some of my first walks after we moved to Santa Fe.

Hard to believe it’s been a year already, but it has. Time flies when you’re having fun!

#photography #cholla #plant #NewMexico

Discuss... Reply to this in the fediverse: @davepolaschek@writing.exchange

The sunflowers around here are in bloom lately. The Mexican sunflowers for about a month, but the sunflowers I’m used to seeing from other parts of the country have started blooming this week, too.

Here’s one that’s growing in the ditch near our house.

Sunflower blooming along the side of our street

#photography #plant

Discuss... Reply to this in the fediverse: @davepolaschek@writing.exchange