davepolaschek

shopStorage

Small rack holding three nail sets

I was cleaning my shop this morning, and found my set of three nail sets. Rather than lose them again and have to use nails rather than the proper tool, I decided to give them a proper home.

rack for nail sets, viewed from the front

I found a couple small pieces of apple wood, and made one flat so it could be mounted on my boring tools till. I drilled three holes in the other piece, then roughly shaped it to something organic-looking.

rack viewed from above

I glued and screwed the two pieces together with a #2-⅜ screw, countersunk from behind, so the mounting piece would still sit flat, then finished it with the Beall Wood Buffer, and finally I glued and screwed the mounting piece to the till door. Done and done.

nail set rack, viewed from below

Little projects like this can be pretty satisfying. Two hours and change from idea to finished product, and my shop is (a little) better organized now.

#woodworking #shopStorage #quickie

Discuss... Reply to this in the fediverse: @davepolaschek@writing.exchange