furycd001

debian

alt text

  • In the 2000 era I ran Fedora Core on a bunch of devices including a Sony Vaio laptop & Dell Dimension desktop....

After experiencing a few problems with Fedora I decided to move on & experience Debain / Ubuntu.

  • From 2009 to 2017 I ran Debain on a standard 2009 MacBook

It was a minimal netinstall with lightdm, openbox & a bunch of lightweight apps.

  • Christmas 2017 santa gifted me a mid range Lenovo ThinkPad E470....

When I first opened the laptop, I just wanted to game so I nuked the pre-installed Windows 10 & installed Xubuntu 16.04.
The reason that I chose Xubuntu is that I've been an xfce user for most of my Linux life now & Ubuntu was officially supported by steam.

  • It's currently the 8th of August 2019 & I feel that I need to move on from Xubuntu 16.04.06....

I've just started making fresh back-ups of my system, while contemplating which system to install next. Should I switch to Fedora, or should I stick with xubuntu.. Or or or should I give Debian a try....

  • Hmmmm....

Once I've finished backing-up everything I plan on doing a fresh install of “SOMETHING”, followed by installing my back-ups. Hoping everything is plain sailing & that I enjoy whatever distro I choose....


#fedora #debian #xubuntu #linux #os #gaming #thinkpad


Currently I'm considering switching from Xubuntu 16.04 to one of three distros.

My first choice is Debian because I'm looking at going back to a minimal os install. Debian is a distro that I've used many times before, so I'm comfortable using it (unlike slackware). I would ideally install either xfce or openbox with just enough packages to have a fully functional every day usable os. Down with bloat I say.. Anyway my second choice is Bunsen Labs. This distro is my second choice because it's based on Debian, it's minimal, it has openbox installed as it's window manager of choice & it takes a lot of hassle out of setting up Debian from scratch. Bunsen Labs is a super awesome, lightweight distro that came to replace Crunchbang after it ended. My third and final choice is Elementary os. Elementary may not be minimal, but it does have an amazing look and feel to it, along with an awesome community & development team. Elementary looks almost like Macos, only better in my opinion.

I don't know if I will through a minimal Ubuntu into the mix, because I have slowly started to drift from Ubuntu for a while now. I don't really know why because Xubuntu is still an awesome & amazing distro to use. I currently still use it as my daily driver, but all my other devices run Debian or some form of Android.


#Linux #Ubuntu #Xubuntu #Debian #Elementary #Bunsenlabs #Minimal #distro #Windowmanager


Ubuntu 18.04 says goodbye to gksu as it is no longer installed by default. Actually it can't be installed at all because it no longer has an installation candidate. Searching in synaptic returns zero results for gksu and opening a terminal and using apt gives the following output.

Reading package lists... Done Building dependency tree Reading state information... Done Package gksu is not available, but is referred to by another package. This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or is only available from another source E: Package 'gksu' has no installation candidate

Do a search on duck and you will find that gksu has not only been deprecated, but has already been removed from Debian. Ubuntu is just following. Developers have suggested that people should start looking towards using PolicyKit. For those of us still running and using older versions of Ubuntu, we can continue using gksu until we upgrade.


#gksu #sudo #Ubuntu #Debian #Linux