furycd001

linux

alt text

Sharing outputs from a terminal, or even just config files can sometimes be hard. With termbin it's now super easy. Simply enter your command & then add a pipe to termbin at the end.

e.g. cat hello.txt | nc termbin.com 9999

Sharing files is now super easy & quick. If you like you could add the termbin command to a bash alias so that you only need to type “termbin” each time after the pipe. To do this simply open a terminal within your home directory and type “nano .bashaliases”. This will open your bashaliases file or a blank document if it doesn't already exist in nano. Now type or paste in the code shown below.

alias termbin=“| nc termbin.com 9999”

Save the file by pressing “CTRL+O” & then exiting by pressing “CTRL+X”. Close your terminal and then reopen for the alias to take affect. That's basically it. You can now quickly & easily share outputs & config files from the terminal .


#terminal #linux #termbin #share #bashalias #alias

leafpad: can't save config file – /home/furycd001/.config/leafpad/leafpadrc

For me leafpad on Ubuntu constantly throws up a config error and is never able to save any settings. Turns out it's just some permission errors that are super easy to fix. Simply enter the commands below into a terminal and change “username” to whatever your username is. The problem should now be sorted and leafpad should now be able to save your settings.

sudo chown username ~/.config/leafpad

sudo chown username ~/.config/leafpad/leafpadrc


#ubuntu #linux #leafpad #error #permissions

alt text

Thunar not displaying thumbnails is a problem I regularly run into whenever I do a minimal xfce install. For some reason the required packages for displaying thumbnails in thunar are never included and I end up having to install them manually every time. If like me you ever run into this same problem, here's how to easily fix it with two simple steps..

[1] Install the required packages....

sudo apt-get install tumbler tumbler-plugins-extra ffmpegthumbnailer

[2] Delete all thumbnail cache....

sudo rm -r ~/.cache/thumbnails/ && rm -r ~/.thumbnails/

Thumbnails in thunar should now be working again, if not then i'd recommending visiting #linux over on freenode irc, or the community forums for whatever distro you happen to use.


#xubuntu #xfce #thunar #thumbnails

alt text

  • In the 2000 era I ran Fedora Core on a bunch of devices including a Sony Vaio laptop & Dell Dimension desktop....

After experiencing a few problems with Fedora I decided to move on & experience Debain / Ubuntu.

  • From 2009 to 2017 I ran Debain on a standard 2009 MacBook

It was a minimal netinstall with lightdm, openbox & a bunch of lightweight apps.

  • Christmas 2017 santa gifted me a mid range Lenovo ThinkPad E470....

When I first opened the laptop, I just wanted to game so I nuked the pre-installed Windows 10 & installed Xubuntu 16.04.
The reason that I chose Xubuntu is that I've been an xfce user for most of my Linux life now & Ubuntu was officially supported by steam.

  • It's currently the 8th of August 2019 & I feel that I need to move on from Xubuntu 16.04.06....

I've just started making fresh back-ups of my system, while contemplating which system to install next. Should I switch to Fedora, or should I stick with xubuntu.. Or or or should I give Debian a try....

  • Hmmmm....

Once I've finished backing-up everything I plan on doing a fresh install of “SOMETHING”, followed by installing my back-ups. Hoping everything is plain sailing & that I enjoy whatever distro I choose....


#fedora #debian #xubuntu #linux #os #gaming #thinkpad

alt text

For those who use xfce, every once in a while xfce4-panel may crash or glitch out. Thankfully you can easily restart the panel with one simple terminal command. Simply open up a terminal window and type in the command below followed by pressing enter. The panel should restart instantly and be working perfectly again.

xfce4-panel -r


#xfce #xfce4panel #Linux #terminal

alt text

Apple was temporarily blocking Linux users from accessing it's Apple ID website. It is unknown as to why apple did this, but it quickly got fixed. The Apple ID website is important if you own any products from apple because it's a way of managing things such as two-factor authentication, payment information, and many other account details. The number of Linux users accessing the website will surly be small, but for some of those users they did stumble upon the issue. The website was apparently sniffing user-agents to look for traces of Linux / X11 & if it found either it would straight away throw up a “Bad Gateway” error page.


#Linux #x11 #apple #error #blocking

Audacity is an amazing audio editor, but sometimes you want something that's just a little lighter & easier to use. Say “HI” to Ocenaudio. Like Audacity, Ocenaudio is free & crossplatform. It won't impact performance when editing multiple audio files.

To install Ocenaudio you can simply click here to visit the download page or follow the steps below if you run a Debian based system.

sudo apt update && wget http://www.ocenaudio.com/downloads/index.php/ocenaudio_debian64.deb && sudo dpkg -i ocenaudio_debian64.deb

In the wget command you can replace debian64 with debian32 if you have a 32bit system. Ocenaudio may ask for some dependencies to complete the installation. If it does then use the following command.

sudo apt-get install -f

Ocenaudio should now be installed & can now be launched either through your menu of choice or by typing “ocenaudio” into a terminal window....


#audio #audioeditor #Linux #apps


alt text

Ok so I use deja dup for backing up my system and have done for a number of years now. It's a great app that makes backing up any system super easy. It's also included in many Linux distributions repos which makes it easy to install. The only problem I have is that unless you're running nautilus (gnome-files) the restore functions are pretty limited. You could easily open deja dup and restore a whole backup, but what if you don't want to restore a whole backup. What if you only want an individual file or folder ?? After doing some research, I found that you can use deja dup with a custom action in thunar. Follow the steps below to set up your own deja dup action in thunar.

  1. Open thunar....
  2. Select Edit and then click on Configure custom actions.... alt text
  3. Click the + button to create a new custom action.... alt text
  4. Complete the text boxes: Name: Restore Description: Restore files with Deja Dup.... Command: deja-dup —restore %F Icon: deja dup icon alt text
  5. Click on Appearance Conditions tab and check all 6 boxes.... Uncheck directories if you don't want to be able to restore whole folders alt text
  6. Click ok to finish....

You may need to log out and in again for changes to take effect, but now you will now be able to right-click on a file or folder in thunar to restore earlier versions.


#thunar #nautilus #xfce #dejadup #backup #Linux


alt text

Renaming a file or directory while using in the terminal is pretty easy and simple. Simply use the “mv” command adding the original file or directory followed by a space then the new name.

mv /home/user/oldname /home/user/newname


#rename #terminal #xfce4terminal #linux #unix #commandline


Currently I'm considering switching from Xubuntu 16.04 to one of three distros.

My first choice is Debian because I'm looking at going back to a minimal os install. Debian is a distro that I've used many times before, so I'm comfortable using it (unlike slackware). I would ideally install either xfce or openbox with just enough packages to have a fully functional every day usable os. Down with bloat I say.. Anyway my second choice is Bunsen Labs. This distro is my second choice because it's based on Debian, it's minimal, it has openbox installed as it's window manager of choice & it takes a lot of hassle out of setting up Debian from scratch. Bunsen Labs is a super awesome, lightweight distro that came to replace Crunchbang after it ended. My third and final choice is Elementary os. Elementary may not be minimal, but it does have an amazing look and feel to it, along with an awesome community & development team. Elementary looks almost like Macos, only better in my opinion.

I don't know if I will through a minimal Ubuntu into the mix, because I have slowly started to drift from Ubuntu for a while now. I don't really know why because Xubuntu is still an awesome & amazing distro to use. I currently still use it as my daily driver, but all my other devices run Debian or some form of Android.


#Linux #Ubuntu #Xubuntu #Debian #Elementary #Bunsenlabs #Minimal #distro #Windowmanager