Numeric Citizen Musings

reading

๐Ÿ“š Today, after opening Apple Books on my Mac, I concluded that Iโ€™m not reading enough books. Why is it so hard for me to sit down regularly and read a book is beyond me? I do read a lot during the day, but only fragments of things like articles, tweets, and RSS items. I started to read The Phoenix Project a long time ago but didnโ€™t finish it. However, it was amusing and in line with my job!

A friend of mine shared a draft of a book she is writing; Iโ€™m only halfway into it. I cannot finish it. Pathetic. ๐Ÿ˜’

Am I alone with this?

#reading #musing

Discuss...

๐Ÿ“– This week, I received my revenues report from Medium for last year (for taxes purposes). I made less than 500 CAN$. It reminded me that I was a much more active publisher last year than now. My last publication on Medium was on February 12th.

This morning, I spent a few minutes on Medium. I canโ€™t remember when was the last time I visited the homepage. I was curious about the web experience changes introduced since my last visit. Another reminder is that I donโ€™t spend as much time on the platform as I used to.

Iโ€™m wondering if I should keep my Medium account. ๐Ÿง

#medium #reading #writing

๐Ÿ“š While looking around me and paying attention to the generation that follows, I see most people on their screen looking at videos (Instagram, TikTok, Snapchat, YouTube, etc.). I rarely see someone reading on their screen, even less a book. I find it troubling in a few ways. First, I think people are becoming lazy about getting new knowledge and culture. Second, itโ€™s harder to read than watching videos. Third, attention span has never been this short in the younger generation.

When I write an article with an average read time of more than four or five minutes, I know before hitting the publish button that very few people will read it. Those who do are probably older people. I might be wrong. I hope. ๐Ÿ˜’

Do you feel the same way?

#reading #writing #musing

Discuss...