Roscoe's Quick Notes

QNOCT2024

Bishop-Queen checkmate

Despite being distracted by the toothache from Hell, I won this Correspondence Chess game a few minutes ago with a Bishop-Queen Checkmate on my 16th move.

posted Thursday, Oct 24, 2024 at ~9:04 AM #chess #QNOCT2024

Major event of this Wednesday was the 4-month follow-up apt. at my Drs. office. Spent most of the early part of the day prepping for that. And spent most of the afternoon going to the apt., meeting with the nurse, the PA, and the lab tech, then being driven back home. I'm happy to note that all went well in spite of dealing with that nasty toothache.

posted Wednesday, Oct 23, 2024 at ~7:43 PM #QNOCT2024

A productive Tuesday winds down and finds me listening to the radio call of tonight's college football game between the the Louisiana Tech Bulldogs and the UTEP Miners.

This morning I was able to catch up on some much needed yard work: mowed and trimmed part of the front lawn. And this afternoon I assembled paperwork and material needed for tomorrow afternoon's Dr.'s appointment.

posted Tuesday, Oct 22, 2024 at ~7:23 PM #QNOCT2024

Darned toothache. It's occupying too darned much of my attention. I knew I was doing too much eating this weekend. The only thing to do now is to medicate that part of my mouth as best I can and return to eating sparingly and carefully. That what I did the last time this happened. It worked then and it'll work again.

posted Monday, Oct 21, 2024 at 5:00PM #QNOCT2024

A productive and very full Sunday, this. And that in spite of waking much later than normal.

Actually got some yard work done for the 1st time in weeks. Filled the green organics bin with cut branches from the back yard.

Sorted and mostly disposed of a pile of correspondence that has been accumulating back here for... heck of a long time. And I followed more Sunday NFL games than I usually do.

posted Sunday, Oct 20, 2024 at ~9:28 PM #QNOCT2024

A good Saturday is underway. Much of the morning has been spent exploring ways to break out of debt cycle that has been forced on me (and on most Americans, but I'm mostly concerned about me) due to heavy credit card use, high interest rate loans, and constantly rising inflation. Learning about new alternatives is improving my outlook.

Listening to the IU Hoosiers vs Nebraska Cornhuskers College Football Game now. Go Hoosiers!

posted Saturday, Oct 19, 2024 at ~11:36 AM #QNOCT2024

A nice quiet Friday is winding down with ESPN Radio bringing me the NLCS Game between the Mets and the Dodgers. After this game I may stick with baseball to follow the Yankees and Guardians in their ALCS Game that comes on later, or I may switch over to college football. That's a decision to be made later.

posted Friday, Oct 18, 2024 at ~4:50 PM #QNOCT2024

At ~09:30 this morning the home Internet went down in my neighborhood. At that time my ISP predicted the outage would last approx. 8 hours. Luckily they were able to bring us back online by ~12:30, so only 3 hours of actual downtime.

As I'm mostly a radio guy anyway, and a reader, this gave me a chance to put on a good music station and get some reading done. It turned out to be a pretty good morning for me, actually.

This evening I plan to follow some live college football. Of course, there's also the option of NFL's Thursday Night Football, but the college games appeal to me more.

posted Thursday, Oct 17, 2024 at ~5:25 PM #QNOCT2024

After a quiet day I'm relaxing my way through the evening listening to live college football, Western Kentucky University Hilltoppers vs Sam Houston State Bearcats.

posted Wednesday, Oct 16, 2024 at ~6:26 PM #QNOCT2024

Winding down a pretty good Tuesday, listen to ESPN Radio's live call of tonight's ALCS Game #2 between the Yankees and the Guardians.

posted Tuesday, Oct 15, 2024 at ~7:04 PM #QNOCT2024