Roscoe's Quick Notes

chess

Queen-Rook Checkmate

I won this Correspondence Chess game this afternoon when I caught the White King in a Queen-Rook Combination checkmate.

posted Tuesday 02/Apr/2024 ~17:20 #QNAPR2024 #chess

Queen Knight Rook Checkmate

I won this server-based Correspondence Chess game this morning when my White Queen Checkmated the Black King. We can see that the King's only possible flight square is occupied by my Knight protected by my e4 Rook.

posted Thursday 28/Mar/2024 #QNMAR2024 #chess

Knight to g7 Checkmate

As this Saturday afternoon winds down I'm happy to report another won Correspondence Chess game. My Knight to g7 Checkmated the Black King a few minutes ago. All his possible flight squares are covered my Queen, Bishop, and 2 of my pawns.

posted Saturday 02 March 2024 ~17:30 #QNMAR2024 #chess

Queen-Rook Checkmate

I won this Correspondence Chess game earlier today when I caught the Black King in a Queen-Rook Checkmate. As you can see, Black's only two flight squares were covered by my h4 Bishop and my g3 pawn.

posted Friday 01 March 2024 ~13:10. #QNMAR2024 #chess

Saturday Checkmate

I won this Correspondence Chess game midday Saturday by catching the Black King in a Knight-Rook-Knight combination checkmate.

posted Saturday 24 February 2024 ~12:15 #QNFEB2024 #chess

Rook-Bishop Checkmate

My first win of the day. I checkmated the White King with a Rook- Bishop Combination this morning. This Correspondence Chess game began a month ago and proceeded through 34 full moves before my Rxf1# brought it to an end.

posted Wednesday 21/Feb/2024 ~08:45 #QNFEB2024 #chess

5 White pieces involved

Earlier today I won this CC game when I checkmated the slippery Black King in the middle of the board. My Rook on the d1 Square delivered the mating move, and the King's possible flight squares were all covered by my other Rook, my Queen, and two of my pawns.

posted Saturday 10/Feb/2024 ~16:40 #QNFEB2024 #chess

QueenBishopKnightComboMate

I won this Correspondence Chess game today, catching the Black King with a nifty Queen-Bishop-Knight Combination Checkmate.

posted Friday 26/Jan/2024 ~17:20 #QNJAN2024 #chess

Queen-Bishop Mate assisted by the White Queen

This morning I received pairings for two different 11-player correspondence chess tournaments for which I registered last fall. When play begins later this month it will add 20 more active games to my current load of over 20 games.

Speaking of chess, the graphic at the top of this post shows the final board of a game I won earlier this week by catching the White King in a Queen-Bishop-Knight Combination Checkmate in which my Black army was assisted by White's own Queen. Positioned on the E1 square, she is blocking her King's only possible escape from my Black Queen's attack. Heh. Thanks, Queenie. #chess

posted 12/Jan/2024 ~15:20 #QNJAN2024

I won this Correspondence Chess game today by catching the Black King in a Queen-pawn Combination checkmate.

Queen-pawn Checkmate

posted Thursday 07/Dec/2023 ~14:00 #QNDEC2023 #chess