Original Song: Deep Within

Tarantula Nebula Tarantula Nebula, Image by NASA

The core of this song is very old. I can't tell exactly but I'd say I wrote the chorus around 2005. It expresses my faith at the time that there is something beautiful in us that shines from within. About a year ago I added the other parts which are inspired by my exploration of Buddhism and Christian mystical traditions. I can't relate to it as much as I did then but it's still kind of interesting 😁

Edit: I have transferred my songs to a another website. You can find this song here now: https://reto.nom.za/music/songs.html#Deep%20Within

Lyrics

Deep within there is a thing Deep within shimmering Golden light Shining bright

Numerous clauses Keep me from the causes That move the world In mysterious ways

Sick and tired of a life That is shallow and meaningless I aim for the core I just want more

But deep down inside of me There is knowing It is a place where I cannot go There is freedom I'm longing to be home There is peace For me

Deep within there is a thing Deep within shimmering Golden light Shining bright

I listen to the voice within Breathing softly, I just begin To travel beyond It's time to respond

The world is passing by you know Frail is all I touch and hold I dare not speak I think I am so weak

But deep down inside of me There is knowing It is a place where I cannot go There is freedom I'm longing to be home There is peace For me

Deep within there is a thing Deep within shimmering Golden light Shining bright

Recording

Recorded with just one condenser stereo mic today on the 13th October 2019. I'm playing a Washburn Western Guitar I bought more than 20 years ago...

#song #demo #original #singersongwriter #guitar