Reto

guitar

Hi! I'm Reto from #Bern, 🇨🇭 #Switzerland 🇨🇭. I work in IT and besides that I dabble in various fields.

I'd say the most important hobby I have is to write songs. I have been doing this for a long time but it mostly resulted in snippets I have recorded over the years and very few complete songs.

From 2018 I changed my approach and I began trying to write complete songs instead of just some chorus or riff. I have a learned a lot in the meantime. I was forced to write more lyrics and because of that, it got a lot easier over time.

I would say writing lyrics is not the stumbling block it used to be. It's pretty fun now and it also makes the #songwriting process more interesting. Sometimes I join a Shut Up & Write group in Bern to challenge myself and only work on some text. 😊

I play the #guitar and the #piano, but it's mostly just backing that I use it for, kind of like a tool to write songs 😁

This is one of my guitars, a small ascoustic Jazz guitar :

I have a Thomann e-piano at home and several other guitars, a Washburn western, a Takamine half-acoustic and a Yamaha e-guitar.

Quite recently I have changed my backing approach. I began exploring open guitar tunings. It has helped me a lot in finding an accompaniment that triggers my feeling which then enables me to start writing a new song. I have tried to describe this experience in the post The Awesomeness of Open Guitar Tunings.

You can clearly see that music is very important to me but I have other interests too 😀

I'm interested in social justice, psychology, philosophy, religion and theology. Not long ago I joined a Unitarian Universalists circle. I think it is a nice place to get into contact with people that have similar interests like me.

Sometimes I write about these topics on my blog here too. Apart from that I do a lot of sports: I go swimming (in the summer outside and in the winter indoors), jogging and to the gym. To stay flexible I do some Hatha Yoga just for myself.

There's a lot more to tell but I think it's enough for an “About Me” post. If you want to know more or contact me, you can write an email to 𝒎𝒂𝒊𝒍@𝒓𝒆𝒕𝒐.𝒏𝒐𝒎.𝒛𝒂

Thanks and have a nice day! 🌞

L.A. Ring, Road in the Village of Baldersbrønde (Winter Day), 1912 L.A. Ring, Road in the Village of Baldersbrønde (Winter Day), 1912

This is the first song that comes out of my experiments with Open Guitar Tunings.

I started composing it on the epiano but switched to the guitar for recording since this sounds a lot better IMO.

Read more...

Painting of man playing the guitar Painting by anonymous 17th century artist known as “Master of the Annunciation to the Shepherds”

Recently I have discovered Joni Mitchell. I was blown away. It's so weird that I have never heard of her even though she seems to be really famous.

Read more...

Human love for dogs “Human love for dogs” by AnkitaD018 (CC BY)

This is my latest song. It was inspired by a dream. The first two lines and the verse melody are directly from the dream. I couldn't exactly remember the chorus (the part with “I'm gonna love you tomorrow”) but that's kind of what I remembered 8)

Edit: I have transferred my songs to a another website. You can find this song here now: https://reto.nom.za/music/songs.html#You%20Might%20Do%20Things

Read more...

Tarantula Nebula Tarantula Nebula, Image by NASA

The core of this song is very old. I can't tell exactly but I'd say I wrote the chorus around 2005. It expresses my faith at the time that there is something beautiful in us that shines from within. About a year ago I added the other parts which are inspired by my exploration of Buddhism and Christian mystical traditions. I can't relate to it as much as I did then but it's still kind of interesting 😁

Edit: I have transferred my songs to a another website. You can find this song here now: https://reto.nom.za/music/songs.html#Deep%20Within

Read more...

Rose Abundance Image by T.Kiya, License

This is a song I've started writing in July 2018. I left it unfinished for quite some time and about half a year ago I've added the middle part. It's quite an uplifting piece and I like to play it once in a while.

Edit: I have transferred my songs to a another website. You can find this song and a more recent demo here now: https://reto.nom.za/music/songs.html#A%20Single%20Thing

Read more...