sercraig

Apple

Currently I am using different writing applications on different computers. I am finding that offline programs work better: write a bit, save, get busy with something else, write some more, save, get distracted, finish a draft, save, edit, then copy-paste into Write.as.

My #Windows app of choice is MarkPad. I like how it provides a live preview pane of everything you enter so you adjust accordingly.

My #Apple app of choice is uFocus. It's minimal, easy-to-use, and looks beautiful.

I am still searching for a #Linux-based app for my Pop_OS laptop. Meanwhile I'm using the built-in text editor, which lets you work in #Markdown (among many other languages).

I've yet to try a cross-platform app, but give it time.

Of course, I say all this while writing this post directly into Write.as. 🤷

After completing a #Linux project last week, I realized I haven't used my Linux laptop for some time. I tinker on it mostly to teach myself the #Terminal command line. It also servers as a waiting room backup for when my car's in the shop.

Linux is a family of open-source software operating systems. Each version is called a distribution. Linux is secure, low cost, highly customizable, and can run well on older computers. If you're tired of the amount of malware directed at #Windows computers and don't want to spend or have the money to spend on a computer from #Apple, give Linux a try.

Here are some starting points if you're new to Linux.

Ubuntu

#Ubuntu is one of the more well-known Linux distributions. It's what I am currently using. Ubuntu offers LTS (long term support) and non-LTS versions; go with the former. You can even try it as a bootable USB stick before installing it on your computer.

Elementary

Admittedly I have not experimented with #Elementary, but it's on my to-do list. One nice feature of this beautiful-looking distribution from what I've read is that it's not as customizable as other distros, so it can help you stay focused on your tasks without getting lost down the bottomless customization hole.

Security-based Linux

Those users wanting a more secure OS or cybersecurity professionals looking for security testing tools have several options as well. This blog post gives some great examples, such as #Kali Linux.

And more

If you want to research the many other distributions that are available, try DistroWatch. It can help point you in other directions well.

A friend shared this Medium story with me. It's too good not to mention here. Basically: Avoid trash, refocus, read.

EDIT (adding because it deserves attention): This Gizmodo piece on cutting the Facebook, Amazon, Google, Apple, and Microsoft out of your life.

2nd EDIT (because I can't believe I forgot this): Microsoft cybersecurity expert says not to use Internet Explorer.

I currently have a small stack of For Dummies books from the library next to my side of the bed: Artificial Intelligence, Blockchain, Algorithms, and Machine Learning.

#reading #microsoft #google #amazon #apple #facebook

Apple has released an update to resolve the major #FaceTime bug. This is good news. Be sure to update your devices as soon as possible.

Some good news, it is reported that #Apple will compensate the teenager who first discovered the bug.