smileytraveler

personalstories

Scene: Bagel shop. Somewhere in Florida

Enter, me.

Enter, Mr. H Skeez.

I'm reading a local magazine (made of PAPER!) and skimming through the adorable events section.

Me: Oh, look! Odesza is going to be here in concert this month. That's so cool! Can't believe they are going to grace us humble folk with their epic presence.

(I mean, we're not technically po-dunk. But, certainly not Manhattan.)

Mr. H Skeez: Oh, yeah? What's the date? I'll see if I can still get tickets.

Me: Yeah, love, love, love them. But, seriously, how does one “watch” an electronic music group perform?

Mr. H Skeez is puzzled.

Me: I mean, what do they do?? Just stand there and put a track on. Do they dance? Tell me there will at least be a laser-light show. Those are cool! Otherwise, I'll be pretty bored.

Mr. H Skeez is even puzzled-er.

Me: Maybe I could bring glow sticks. I think that's what people do to entertain themselves at these things.

Mr. H Skeez wants to laugh, but can't because when his facepalm hits, he's afraid he'll knock his teeth out.

Mr. H Skeez: You know, they do actually play instruments at these things. Like...a real band.

Me: What instruments? Isn't everything done on computers?

Mr. H Skeez: They actually use real instruments, along with synthesizers (<– I had to look that word up after misspelling it three times) and other types of electronic equipment.

My eyes go wide.

Me: Hahahaha! I never knew that!

I crack up.

Mr. H Skeez: Yes. They stand on a stage, all line up and perform. Just like any other band would.

Me: That's awesome! So that's what those weirdos in helmets are doing up there when they're twitching and bobbing their hands around!

Mr. H Skeez is looking all kinds of perturbed.

Mr. H Skeez: Yes, “those weirdos in helmets”...and I think the name you are looking for is Daft Punk...

Me: That's the one!

Mr. H Skeez: ...they do things a little differently than what I just explained, but...yeah, we'll just go with that.

Y'all, I am officially young and hip! 'Cause I know things.

#humor #personalstories #music