Bored on the stairs

If the probability isn't zero, it will eventually happen.

And it happened: I locked myself out. Quickly getting some laundry, keys in the apartment... just not me. The moment the door closed, the moment I realised, the moment George screamed “Hold my beer”. Anger and frustration bubbled up and the worst part? I had nowhere to hide. And by “nowhere to hide” I include topics to distract me.

Because this is what we do, isn't it? Be honest! We distract ourselves, sometimes we label it as “being busy”, “using the time” or the all-time favourite “multitasking”. All in an attempt to escape our thoughts – and as such – George.

Not so lucky this time. No keys, no phone, no book. Not even a restaurant flyer to read. Only me and George, a closed door, white walls, and some stairs to sit on. to wait on. For how long only the future will tell.

As I said, anger and frustration bubbled up. The entire day was ruined, you know what: the entire YEAR was ruined!! Trust me! And for a moment I trusted what George said. I fell into his trap. The situation was dire, my fault and unfair! Don't forget unfair! and apparently unfair. A good reason to complain a bit when I'm done complaining.

My second instinct was trying to kick in: Get going, move a bit, maybe a walk around the block? Well, I had neither jacket not sweater... every attempt on a walk would end up with two (!) locked doors blocking my way.

It might surprise you but that was the moment I started laughing:

If an action can make it worse, it's not the worst.

This tiny little thought was enough to send George back to his beer. I was still angry and frustrated but he couldn't leech of it anymore. I relaxed and accepted that some things are out of my control. And that I will be rescued at some point. After all: If the probability isn't zero, it will eventually happen.


Next post: “Only as old as you feel” Last post: “Being insignificant and crucial at the same time”