Roscoe's Story

Portal

Simple, simple setup

My little Portal

My Portal-Mini was delivered earlier this afternoon and is now set up and ready for business in my room. The entire setup process was dead simple.

There are a few things this little device is capable of that I won't be using. It can connect to a user's Pandora and Spotify accounts, but I don't have either of those. And I can't use the Portal App because it requires having the Facebook App installed on my smartphone, and I don't (and I won't).

But I do have it running a screensaver of my FB photos. That's fun. And I've connected it to my Alexa account. So if Big Tech and the Derp State isn't monitoring me the one way it can do it by the other.

And the adventure continues.


Published on 21 November 2020, ~16:10 Central Time.

#RoscoeEllis #blog #SeniorLiving #Portal #technology


by Roscoe

Black Friday Shopping?

Portal Mini

Yep. Purchases made today qualify as “early Black Friday,” don't they?

Anyway, I had a quick chat early this morning with my daughter who lives 1,000 miles away and learned she's getting a FB Portal device. And I learned that my granddaughters who also live 1,000 miles away will be getting Portals, too.

Since there will be no travelling over the holidays, these little devices (well, my Portal Mini ordered this morning and that will be delivered tomorrow is small, though I understand the rest of the family is getting bigger models) will make it easier for us to be virtually together. It'll also make it easier to connect with friends and family elsewhere: the Philippines, Germany, ...

And the adventure continues.


Published on 20 November 2020, ~13:40 Central Time.

#RoscoeEllis #blog #SeniorLiving #Friday #shopping #portal


by Roscoe