Roscoe's Story

technology

Mystery Apps

Like many of you, I suppose, I have way too many apps on my phone. To keep things organized, I store links for the most commonly used apps in folders. There's a “Social” folder, a “TV, Radio” folder, a “Games” folder, a “Shopping” folder, a “Utilities” folder, and several others.

This morning I was more than a little surprised to find two brand new widgets staring at me! I've got them circled in red in the screenshot above. I did NOT put them there.

Now, I know what they link to, at least in part. The USPS Mobile app allows easy access to several Post Office services that I use, usually from links in emails, other times from a browser on my laptop. And the QR Code links to a nifty personal information sharing tool I experimented with on my laptop recently.

BUT at no time did I download these apps to my phone, and I certainly never stuck their widgets in my phone's Utilities folder. I wonder who did.

Then I see this article about the Postal Service clandestinely monitoring social media posts of conservatives, and I wonder again about the mysterious appearance of those apps on my phone this morning.

The mystery continues.

Posted 21/Apr/2021 ~ 16:00 Central Time #blog #technology #apps


by Roscoe

Simple, simple setup

My little Portal

My Portal-Mini was delivered earlier this afternoon and is now set up and ready for business in my room. The entire setup process was dead simple.

There are a few things this little device is capable of that I won't be using. It can connect to a user's Pandora and Spotify accounts, but I don't have either of those. And I can't use the Portal App because it requires having the Facebook App installed on my smartphone, and I don't (and I won't).

But I do have it running a screensaver of my FB photos. That's fun. And I've connected it to my Alexa account. So if Big Tech and the Derp State isn't monitoring me the one way it can do it by the other.

And the adventure continues.


Published on 21 November 2020, ~16:10 Central Time.

#RoscoeEllis #blog #SeniorLiving #Portal #technology


by Roscoe

Social sites?

Social sites

Yeah, I visit a few.

These are the ones saved in a folder of my phone. Some I visit much more regularly than others. Some I visit for different reasons than others.

When we're mostly quarantined under this plandemic we get our socializing from where we can, ya know.

I imagine many of you visit at least some of these places, too.

The chess clubs and websites I belong to are saved in another folder, and I often spend as much time or more with my games there than I do with the social sites pictured above. And honestly, I find the chess-heavy days healthier and more edifying than the days spent largely on the social sites.

And so the adventure continues.


Published on 05 November 2020, ~16:15 Central Time.

#RoscoeEllis #blog #SeniorLiving #Thursday #technology #social


by Roscoe

Tonight's Zoom meeting went well.

It would have been nice if more members had attended, but there were enough to conduct a successful business meeting. And I'm reasonably confident that more will be with us next month.

Adjusting to a time when when face to face meetings have to be replaced by tele-conferencing will be challenging. There are so many folks unable to adapt, and that's rather sad because life and business must go on... with or without them.

It will be interesting to see how things develop.

And so the adventure continues.


Published on 13 July 2020, ~21:30 CDT, this is my post number 45/100/365 of the https://100daystooffload.com blogging challenge.

#100DaysToOffload #technology #adaptation


by Roscoe

“Eww! That is NOT the prettiest thing I've seen this morning!”

30 March 2020 – 17:45

That's what I told the nurse on the other end of the line. She giggled and replied, “Well, I think you have it set up properly.”

I am scheduled for an appointment with my primary care physician in a few days. It's just a routine appointment and I'm not even to see the Doctor himself, but his Nurse Practitioner.

His office called me this morning and told me they were starting to use tele-health services and asked if I would be willing to meet with the Nurse Practitioner over the phone. Heck, yes! I'm totally fine with staying home instead of being driven downtown to the office, then waiting, then being driven back home.

The girl from his office then asked what kind of phone I had: an iPhone or an Android. And she asked if I'd be willing to download the duo app, as that's what the Doctor likes to use. So...

Me, on duo

I'll be waiting by my phone for the office to call me at the time of my appointment. And we'll see how it goes.

#SeniorLiving #SevenTwoProject #health #technology


by Roscoe