Roscoe's Story

QuickNote

Now on Telegram

For those who are interested in such things, I'm now using Telegram as my chat client of choice. So if you use that service, feel free to send me a chat over there.

And I've also started micro-blogging there.

Posted 17/Jun/2021 ~ 11:30 Central Time #blog #QuickNote


by Roscoe

Study and Practice, Study and Practice

Sword Manual

As a result of keeping myself isolated during the pandemic hooha, it has been well over a year since I've handled my sword. But I'm fully vaccinated now and resuming some of my former responsibilities. I'm going to be using the sword again Tuesday evening, working with the Knights of Columbus Honor Guard and Color Corps. So I'm going to be studying the commands and practicing the forms before then. I pretty much remember the commands, and I hope the muscle memory is still there in my hands and arms. I'll be practicing A LOT tomorrow during the day and Tuesday morning. I sure don't want to goof up and stab myself or anybody else Tuesday night!

Posted 23/May/2021 ~ 21:30 Central Time #blog #SwordManual #study #practice #QuickNote


by Roscoe

As the Dominoes Start to Fall...

Domino Joe

Posted 20/May/2021 ~ 09:45 Central Time #blog #QuickNote #meme


by Roscoe

It's Time!

Its time

Posted 19/May/2021 ~ 08:10 Central Time #blog #QuickNote #mask #meme


by Roscoe

Yep, that's our Joe... /sigh

Nowhere Man

Posted 15/May/2021 ~ 08:00 Central Time #blog #QuickNote


by Roscoe

Signs of Life

While policing the yard this morning I noticed signs of life in that conglomeration of big bushes by the back fence. Though the big branches which have been getting bigger every year are mostly all dead, new leafy branches have sprouted up from the roots. My task now will be careful pruning: getting rid of the big dead stuff as quickly as I can so the new growth can flourish.

Posted 25/Apr/2021 ~ 09:20 Central Time #blog #QuickNote #chores


by Roscoe

Saturday Chore

This morning and, perhaps, into the early afternoon I'll be out in the backyard with weed-eater and lawnmower trying to make things look a bit more civilized back there.

Posted 24/Apr/2021 ~ 08:45 Central Time #blog #QuickNote #chores


by Roscoe

Just had a nice text chat with Sylvia's older brother in the Philippines. He's my age. He's glad we're doing fine and getting vaccinated. We're glad he's doing fine, too.

Posted 19/Apr/2021 ~ 21:50 Central Time #blog #QuickNote


by Roscoe

Her part-time job has now resumed its regular, pre-pandemic hours. Instead of 9:00 AM to Noon, 3 days a week for awhile, then 4 days a week for awhile; now she's working 8:00 AM to Noon, Monday through Friday again. So I'm getting up an hour earlier every day to help her get ready.

And the adventure continues.

Posted 19/Apr/2021 ~ 09:30 Central Time #blog #QuickNote


by Roscoe

Excellent! I've found an “Elegant Slow Blues” Collection on YouTube to play in the background as I read, and as Sylvia naps.

Posted 18/Apr/2021 ~ 18:25 Central Time #blog #QuickNote

by Roscoe


by Roscoe