Roscoe's Story

radio

Remembering how I used to do it.

Sunday nights often find me jumping around the AM band, trying to find an acceptable radio station that I can listen to while drifting off to sleep. My favorite is only good Monday through Friday; on the weekends programming there changes and becomes more annoying than relaxing.

To my delight, I stumbled upon programming that used to be one of my staples. But with the passing of years and changes in habits I'd completely forgotten about it.

But, wow, amazing how quickly shit falls off aging radar

Yes, exactly!

What I found last night was Westwood One Sports on a local radio station broadcasting the live, play-by-play of Sunday Night Football! Years ago I used to follow NFL games on Westwood One, but then my interests and lifestyle changed. And the few times I caught an NFL game it was while in the company of others and watching TV. And I forgot how I used to do it.

As I mentioned recently I do prefer to follow football on the radio. Remembering now how I used to do it, I know I'll be following the rest of the NFL Season on the radio

And so the adventure continues.


Published on 28 September 2020, ~14:00 CDT, this is my post number 73/100/365 of the https://100daystooffload.com blogging challenge.

#100DaysToOffload #blog #RoscoeEllis #radio #NFL #WestwoodOne


by Roscoe

College Football Saturday! Yes!

My favorite way to follow football has always been to listen to good play-by-play coverage over the radio.

I can close my eyes and “see” the game much better while listening to the radio than by watching on TV. And I'm happy to find a full schedule of live games playing on TuneIn Radio that will keep me entertained through this afternoon into the early evening.

This is my post 69/100/365 of the 100 days blogging challenge. (And it's posted mostly from my phone, so I'm not able to format it as I'd otherwise like to.)


#100DaysToOffload #blog #RoscoeEllis #football #radio


by Roscoe

My Radios

My early generation Bose Wave Radio is back at my bedside after a six-year absence. And this makes me SO happy:

I've always been a radio listener, preferring that over TV viewing in most instances. And this little unit has been my favorite since first purchased many years ago.

For the last six years I've loaned it to Sylvia to provide background music in her seamstress shop downtown. Now that she's closed that shop, my Bose is back home. And I'm listening to it play the local classical music station as I sit here in my home office typing this post. Sweet!

Oh, that little yellow radio sitting on top of the Bose? That's my Sangean DT-400W, a fine pocket-sized AM-FM portable. Highly recommended.

#SevenTwoProject #photograph #radio #personal


by Roscoe