Roscoe's Story

photograph

Some of My Favorite People

Recent photos

My daughter and son-in-law, son-in-law's mother and aunt, and three of my great-grandchildren, all back home in Indiana.

Posted 22/May/2021 ~ 20:00 Central Time #blog #family #photograph


by Roscoe

A little midday Mac, anyone?

Gypsy

Fleetwood Mac, that is. And yes, it works just fine for me.

As I move from late morning into early afternoon, reviewing my notes from the week just ended and planning the week ahead, Stevie Nicks and the rest of the crew can provide the background music to my work.

The adventure continues at a relaxed, easy pace right now. And that is exactly what I need. I think.


Published on 30 August 2020, ~13:45 CDT, this is my post number 63/100/365 of the https://100daystooffload.com blogging challenge.

#100DaysToOffload #blog #RoscoeEllis #music #SevenTwoProject #photograph


by Roscoe

As I move through the chores of this day...

medicine bottles and brother-in-law

.. I note that there are so many more bottles arrayed in front of me now than when I posted about filling my pill boxes earlier this summer. Yes, filling the morning and evening pill boxes is a chore that will probably be on my task list for the rest of my life. And it seems the older I get the more bottles I have to contend with. Most of the new additions are vitamins and supplements that have come as recommendations for strengthening the immune system to better ward off the covid pestilence that is among us.

I also note that someone is peeking at me from across the room. That would be my brother-in-law Rico, an engineer on a tanker ship, looking around the big boat anchor on my TV screen. We keep a family photo album set as the screen saver on the TV, and it cycles through the photos in the album when we're not watching any shows.

And the adventure continues.


Published on 17 August 2020, ~16:05 CDT, this is my post number 57/100/365 of the https://100daystooffload.com blogging challenge.

#100DaysToOffload #blog #RoscoeEllis #health #family #SevenTwoProject #photograph


by Roscoe

Today's healthy exercise in the fresh air was ...

bushy fence

... provided by my backyard fence.

Part of the backyard that borders the alley behind my property is secured by a six-foot chain link fence inside of which are some really big and monstrously dense bushes. I like the extra security those bushes provide, but their branches tend to poke through and reach over the fence. If I don't trim back the protruding foliage every so often, those darned bushes would overwhelm the fence and block the alley. And we can't have that.

At an earlier work session I trimmed the corner and first two sections of fence. The result of that work can be seen in the picture at the top of this post.

Late this morning and into the early part of this afternoon I took my trusty hedge clippers and rake back into the alley and finished the job. The photo below shows the much cleaner length of chain link fence we have now.

clean fence

And I can log this as today's fresh air workout. As those of you who use the old fashioned manual hedge clippers know, they do work the arm, shoulder, and chest muscles.

The adventure continues.


Published on 01 August 2020, ~18:15 CDT, this is my post number 51/100/365 of the https://100daystooffload.com blogging challenge.

#100DaysToOffload #health #SeniorLiving #SevenTwoProject #photograph #yardwork #blog #RoscoeEllis


by Roscoe

Happy Birthday, USA!

Independence Day 2020

From my front porch to where ever you are, I wish you a safe and happy American Independence Day.

The adventure continues.


Published on 04 July 2020, this is my post number 41/100/365 of the https://100daystooffload.com blogging challenge.

#100DaysToOffload #SevenTwoProject #photograph #flag #holiday #IndependenceDay


by Roscoe

Hey, Dummy! Lose the stupid hat and put on a shirt!

StupidHat

Reaching back into the archive of old photos recently provided by my sister, I find... me. Very long ago and far away.

I'm guessing this picture was taken in 1965, more or less. Sometime in the mid 60s anyway, when I was in high school. I can vaguely remember making that hat by taking an old felt fedora, wetting it repeatedly, and slowly stretching it over... a big bottle of some kind, I think. Have no idea about the pins, buttons, or doodads decorating it.

The photo was taken of me standing in the front yard of the big family house in the small town neighborhood where I grew up.

And now the adventure continues.


Published on 02 July 2020, this is my post number 40/100/365 of the https://100daystooffload.com blogging challenge.

#100DaysToOffload #SevenTwoProject #photograph #ThrowbackThursday


by Roscoe

Flag Corner

NewFlag

Many of us are conducting more of our business online these days, and that sometimes involves participating in online webinars or meetings with our presence shared via webcams. The webcam in my home office is situated so that this corner of the room shows as the background.

This morning I hung another flag to make the corner more appropriately express my loyalty and attitude.

And the adventure continues.


Published on 29 June 2020, this is my post number 39/100/365 of the https://100daystooffload.com blogging challenge.

#100DaysToOffload #flags #photograph #SevenTwoProject


by Roscoe

Summer of '66?

MeSummer66

Or maybe it was the summer of 1965, I don't remember. But that skinny boy in the picture above was me standing in front of the family house over a half-century ago when I was a Junior or Senior in High School.

My sister has taken upon herself a project of digitizing some old photographs and slides that our parents had collected when they were alive. And she's emailing the image files to me and our remaining siblings. How nice of her! She tells me there are approximately 400 pictures all together.

Earlier this year I “sort of” committed myself to a #SevenTwo photo sharing project. With my January birthday placing me well within the ranks of septuagenarians, I decided to post two photos every every week for the remainder of the year. But that was before the CCP-flu pandemic put the world on lockdown and me under strict self-quarantine. Not being able to leave the house with my camera I quickly ran out of current images to post and that project fell by the wayside.

Maybe with these old pictures my sister is sending I'll be able to do a #ThrowbackThursday for awhile, satisfying one picture to post per week of the #SevenTwoProject. And if I stretch my imagination a bit, maybe I'll be able to scrounge up something else for the other picture. Hmm...

The adventure continues.


Published on 25 June 2020, this is my post number 36/100/365 of the https://100daystooffload.com blogging challenge.

#100DaysToOffload #ThrowbackThursday #SevenTwoProject #photograph


by Roscoe

My Radios

My early generation Bose Wave Radio is back at my bedside after a six-year absence. And this makes me SO happy:

I've always been a radio listener, preferring that over TV viewing in most instances. And this little unit has been my favorite since first purchased many years ago.

For the last six years I've loaned it to Sylvia to provide background music in her seamstress shop downtown. Now that she's closed that shop, my Bose is back home. And I'm listening to it play the local classical music station as I sit here in my home office typing this post. Sweet!

Oh, that little yellow radio sitting on top of the Bose? That's my Sangean DT-400W, a fine pocket-sized AM-FM portable. Highly recommended.

#SevenTwoProject #photograph #radio #personal


by Roscoe

PracticeReadings

I am scheduled to be the Lector at this evening's Mass, so this morning I practice the readings.

With the day's first coffee in the mug before me, my book is opened to the Mass readings and I read them aloud, over and over so my mouth will become familiar with saying the words, with phrasing the sentences properly.

Some Lectors prefer to do the Readings cold, to wait until they're standing in front of the Church with the big Missal book open before they look at the verses they're going to read. I am not one of those!

Given the condition of my vision (glaucoma and compound cataracts in both eyes) it's never certain that I'll be able to see the words on the page when I have to read them. It is more than a little scary to be standing in front of everyone, with the book open and microphone turned on, and have the words in front of me begin to fade in and out of focus and swim around like fish in a bowl. Yes, that happens to me sometimes.

By practicing the readings before hand, by becoming used to saying what I have to say, I'm more relaxed when I'm up in front of the microphone and better able to work through whatever trickery the old eyeballs may pull.

So I practice.

#SevenTwoProject #photograph #coffee #Catholic #book


by Roscoe