davepolaschek

Cholla

A cholla cactus in its winter purple, silhouetted against a clear blue sky, with snow on the arms.

I had mentioned before that chollas turn purple in the winter around here. There’s one on the way to the mailbox that is more purple than any other I’ve seen, so I grabbed a picture of it this morning. Should’ve reached past it to get the other weed out of the picture, but I didn’t want to get footprints in the snow. Maybe tomorrow.

#photography #NewMexico #cholla

Discuss... Reply to this in the fediverse: @davepolaschek@writing.exchange

A small tree cholla growing in our yard

We’ve got a small tree cholla growing outside our east-facing bathroom window that reminds me of a prickly baby Groot. As summer turned to fall, it’s been turning more purple and I’m not sure if that’s normal or if it’s sickly. I guess we’ll find out next year.

Edited to add: my sweetie read up on chollas and says they turn purple in the fall and that’s normal. Glad we don’t have to worry about the little guy being sick.

#NewMexico #Cholla #photography

Discuss... Reply to this in the fediverse: @davepolaschek@writing.exchange

Cholla with yellow fruits and a cloudy sky in the background.

On my morning walk today, I noticed this cholla with its yellow fruits. It was a nice splash of color on a cloudy morning, and something I remember seeing here on some of my first walks after we moved to Santa Fe.

Hard to believe it’s been a year already, but it has. Time flies when you’re having fun!

#photography #cholla #plant #NewMexico

Discuss... Reply to this in the fediverse: @davepolaschek@writing.exchange