Roscoe's Quick Notes

QNAUG2024

Early Saturday afternoon finds this first College Football Saturday of the 2024-2025 Season moving comfortably along. Morning chores (prayers, monitoring bank activity, chess work, etc.) all went smoothly. Had a delightful video chat with my daughter who was with her granddaughters at their soccer games back in Indiana. Then it was time for college football.

For the first year in a long time I now have streaming TV access to ESPN and the games they carry. So the first game I started to watch, after watching the last part of ESPN's College Gameday show, was Virginia Tech vs. Vanderbilt. Before half-time of that game I reverted to what has become my favorite way to follow football, and switched to the radio broadcast of the Georgia Bulldogs vs. Clemson Tigers.

For the rest of the season I'll be following football on the radio rather than watching TV coverage. It is a much better experience.

posted Saturday, Aug 31, 2024 at ~12:48 PM #QNAUG2024

Expect more than a little wonkiness here as I change the note-taking app I use as part of the process of generating these Quick Notes posts. I'm transitioning away from Google Keep to Standard Notes. The two apps work quite a bit differently from each other and it's taking me awhile (a good long while, I'm afraid) to learn and get used to those differences.

posted Friday, Aug 30, 2024 at 11:30 AM #QNAUG2024

Finally got some yard work done. This morning I trimmed back bushes in the front yard and side yard. Spent an hour out there and worked up a powerful sweat.

Now taking steps toward completing one of my 2024 New Years Resolutions: de-Googling my Internet operations. Have beefed up my proton mail account to replace gmail, and am moving my note-taking from Google Keep to Standard Notes. It will take a few weeks probably to get the new systems up and running and the old systems put to sleep.

posted Thursday, Aug 29, 2024 at 3:34 PM #QNAUG2024

Indiana Fever

A few minutes ago I subscribed to WNBA League Pass in order to better follow the Indiana Fever. Prior to this year I'd never watched women's basketball, but I started watching Fever games this Summer to catch Caitlin Clark. Now...

posted Wednesday, 2024-08-28 ~13:25 #QNAUG2024

Group winner of Round 1

The above notice popped up in my in-box this morning. So, it appears my September will be a little chess-heavier than I'd planned. I'm already expecting more games later that month when a 13-player tournament in which I'm registered in another of my chess clubs starts. The games of this Round 2 starting next week should be well under way by then.

posted Tuesday, 2024-08-27 ~09:45 #QNAUG2024 #chess

Queen-Rook-2pawns combination checkmate

Over the weekend I won this CC club tournament game with a Queen-Rook-2 pawns combination checkmate. The position of pieces at game's end is shown above, and our full move record is below.

QR2p-combo-mate move record

posted Monday, 2024-08-26 ~07:50 #QNAUG2024 #chess

Fourteenth Sunday After Pentecost

Readings at Mass for this Fourteenth Sunday After Pentecost include: the Introit: Ps. 83. 10-11; the Epistle: Galatians 5. 16-24; and the Gospel: Matthew 6. 24-33.

posted Sunday, 2024-08-25 ~12:00 #QNAUG2024

This Saturday has fallen into a very comfortable pattern. It looks like I'll be watching NFL Preseason games all afternoon, with frequent prayer breaks, until my Saturday night Svengoolie comes on at 19:00.

posted Saturday, 2024-08-24 ~ 12:22 #QNAUG2024

An easy Friday rolls steadily along. Biggest news of the day (so far, anyway) was RFK Jr. withdrawing from the Presidential race and throwing his support behind Donald Trump. I see this as very good news. A comment posted on of my social networks said that this year's Presidential race is now liberals and conservatives uniting against communists. That's pretty much how I see it, too.

posted Friday, 2024-08-23 ~ 16:06 #QNAUG2024

Rook-Queen Checkmate

Earlier today I won this CC game with a Rook-Queen combination checkmate.

posted Thursday, 2024-08-22 ~09:20 #QNAUG2024