Roscoe's Quick Notes

QNJUL2024

Yard work! Yes! This morning I spent an hour and a half in the back yard, cutting fallen branches and loading the big green organics bin. The bin is now stuffed full and ready for the city to collect it tomorrow.

posted Wednesday, 2024-07-31 ~ 12:05 #QNJUL2024

Major chore of this Tuesday was restructuring how two of my credit cards are going to operate for the foreseeable future. Had to spend nearly an hour on the phone trying to convince the rep on the phone that he really could set things up as I wanted. But, he finally understood what I wanted and said he could do it. Stressful.

posted Tuesday, 2024-07-30 ~ 20:00 #QNJUL2024

Queen-Queen Checkmate

I won this Correspondence Chess game late last night on my 69th move by checkmating the Black King against the edge of the board with a Queen-Queen Combination.

posted Monday, 2024-07-29 ~08:25 #QNJUL2024 #chess

As Sunday winds down I'm happy to note that this has been a much better day in the Roscoe-verse than yesterday. It's been a quiet, stay-inside day thanks to all the rain. But a variety of sports on the TV has kept me entertained. Getting ready to watch the Yankees vs Red Sox Game now, and I'll probably head to bed immediately after that.

posted Sunday, 2024-07-28 ~ 18:04 #QNJUL2024

Bottom of the 8th inning and my Rangers are trailing the Blue Jays 7 – 3. Doesn't look good for my guys.

Tonight's Svengoolie is showing one of my least favorite movies. Drat.

My Saturday entertainments of choice are letting me down. The day is far from over, however. There's a chance things could pick up. We can always hope.

posted Saturday, 2024-07-27 ~ 16:30 #QNJUL2024

Mid-morning Friday and I don't know why, but I have a very good feeling about this day. There is nothing special on this day's agenda, but it's good to have a positive outlook.

posted Friday, 2024-07-26 ~ 09:33 #QNJUL2024

Rook-Pawn Checkmate

I won this Correspondence Chess game a few hours ago playing White when I caught the Black King with a Rook-Pawn Combination Checkmate.

posted Thursday, 2024-07-25 ~11:40 #QNJUL2024 #chess

The good news: my backyard fence “fix” from Monday is still holding.

The “meh” news: the off and on stormy weather continues, and it leaves things constantly wet outside, so that keeps me inside. This Wednesday has found me mostly listening to baseball games and working on my chess games.

posted Wednesday, Jul 24, 2024 at ~4:35 PM #QNJUL2024

My “fix” yesterday of the gap in the back yard fence seems to be holding. We had storms blow through last night and again today and the big tube I've roped in across the gap is still up. So no little dogs were able to get into the back yard. Tomorrow's weather is supposed to be like today's, with Thursday and Friday being the stormiest. Hope my “fix” continues to hold.

posted Tuesday, Jul 23, 2024 at ~4:44 PM #QNJUL2024

The same old problem. Earlier today I saw 2 small dogs frolicking in my back yard. Oh, no! One of them squeezed through a gap at my back fence where a gate no longer closes tightly enough to prevent small critters like neighborhood cats and small dogs from getting in. Darn. In the past I've strung rope across that gap in the chain link fence to close it. Looks like I'll have to do that again.

posted Monday, Jul 22, 2024 at ~1:54 PM #QNJUL2024