Roscoe's Story

StandardNotes

A Wednesday morning with Standard Notes

WedMornSN

Shortly after Noon today I snapped a screenshot (seen above) of the Standard Notes app running on my phone. I also have Standard Notes running on my laptop and spend roughly the same amount of time working with it on both devices. Entries made to either the phone app or the desktop version are synched to the other immediately, so there is no loss in time or productivity switching from one to the other.

As I sit at the keyboard typing this blog post midafternoon, there have been more entries added to the PRAYER, DIET, and CHORES lists, and I've not yet started to work on this day's CHESS. But all lists will be much longer before head hits pillow tonight. And there might be a short summary paragraph added at day's end, similar to the few sentences that opened this Wednesday if I think one is needed and if I'm not too tired.

My Standard Notes work is complemented by the 3x5 note cards I use daily, and the traditional paper planner I also keep. One part of my daily note keeping that never makes it into Standard Notes is the tracking I do of my bank balances, and related budget work. I'm so comfortable with the paper ledger system I use for my finances that I'm not in the least bit tempted to change that.

And the adventure continues.


Published on 26 August 2020, ~16:00 CDT, this is my post number 61/100/365 of the https://100daystooffload.com blogging challenge.

#100DaysToOffload #blog #RoscoeEllis #StandardNotes #lists


by Roscoe

Having a Bob Dylan kind of morning.

Bob Dylan Friday

And that is not a bad kind of morning to have. With his latest album providing the soundtrack for my work and a simple text editor open on my desktop I'm finally moving slowly but steadily through this Friday.

The day ahead promises to be a good one. If I'm able to knock off all the items on today's task list, I'll end the day satisfied. But none of those items are particularly urgent; any of them left undone can easily be picked up tomorrow.

After polishing this blog posts's first draft and posting it online I'll move a little further along the Standard Notes learning curve. My first couple of days with it have already convinced me that it will become one of my favorite software tools. The difference between its Android app and the desktop version on my Linux box is interesting. I'll be using both to get the most effective productivity, which is actually fine since I spend a lot of time every day on both my phone and my computer.

And the adventure continues.


Published on 21 August 2020, ~12:00 CDT, this is my post number 59/100/365 of the https://100daystooffload.com blogging challenge.

#100DaysToOffload #blog #RoscoeEllis #BobDylan #StandardNotes #gedit #SevenTwoProject


by Roscoe

One pretty cool tool, but...

... exactly how am I going to use it?

A few days ago I read Jason's post on Fosstodon about his plans to use Standard Notes as a blogging platform. I've known about Standard Notes for awhile, but have never seriously considered using it. Looking now at all the features of this powerful note taking tool I see there's much more to it than I'd previously thought.

I may not us it as a primary blog as Jason's doing – heck, I've already got three different blogs running in a rather coordinated manner: Roscoe's Story, Roscoe's Notebook, and my twitter feed. But I always have been and still am a notorious note taker. And it's sometimes frustrating to lose information that's been copied on some 3x5 card or paper notebook and subsequently misplaced or thrown away.

Anyway, I've now got the Standard Notes desktop app running on my Linux machine, and the Android app on my phone and tablet. Surely I'll be able to use this cool tool to my advantage.

And the adventure continues.


Published on 19 August 2020, ~18:00 CDT, this is my post number 58/100/365 of the https://100daystooffload.com blogging challenge.

#100DaysToOffload #blog #RoscoeEllis #StandardNotes #notetaking


by Roscoe