Roscoe's Story

YardWork

This morning's yard work

Dead Branches

Pruning the big bushes in the back yard is proving to be quite a project, The pile of dead branches pictured above is the result of what I accomplished this morning. Sorry about not having a readily identifiable object in the photo so you'd have an idea of the size, but I estimate the pile as roughly five feet high on average, five feet deep, and maybe fifteen or twenty feet long.

Wore me out doing that, let me tell you. Tomorrow's chore will be cutting the branches into smaller sizes and loading as much as possible into the green organics bin for the city to haul away on Thursday.

Then I'll begin pruning away the rest of the dead branches so the new growth can come up better. The picture below shows some of what I'm talking about. The green you can see is the new growth and it's really coming up fast now. With the rain we're predicted to have tonight and again tomorrow night, then the hot, sunny weekend, I'll have to hurry and get the dead wood cut and out of the way while I can still get to it.

More Branches

And the adventure continues.

Posted 27/Apr/2021 ~ 15:45 Central Time #blog #chores #YardWork


by Roscoe

This morning's yard work...

Branches-A

... courtesy of last night's storm.

When I stepped out my front door this morning I was greeted by the sight of a fair-sized branch (maybe six feet long and very bushy) laying in my yard. Storms like the one that came through the area last night often bring down sticks and branches like this from the big tree in my front yard.

An hour or so ago I had at that branch with appropriate yard tools and, after cutting it up, stuffed the resulting little pieces into my big green organics bin which the city will haul away tomorrow.

Branches-B

More storms are in our forecast over the next few days. So I expect to have more yard work similar to this occupying my time until the weather calms down.

And the adventure continues.


Published on 09 September 2020, ~11:30 CDT, this is my post number 66/100/365 of the https://100daystooffload.com blogging challenge.

#100DaysToOffload #blog #RoscoeEllis #yardwork #SevenTwoProject


by Roscoe

Today's healthy exercise in the fresh air was ...

bushy fence

... provided by my backyard fence.

Part of the backyard that borders the alley behind my property is secured by a six-foot chain link fence inside of which are some really big and monstrously dense bushes. I like the extra security those bushes provide, but their branches tend to poke through and reach over the fence. If I don't trim back the protruding foliage every so often, those darned bushes would overwhelm the fence and block the alley. And we can't have that.

At an earlier work session I trimmed the corner and first two sections of fence. The result of that work can be seen in the picture at the top of this post.

Late this morning and into the early part of this afternoon I took my trusty hedge clippers and rake back into the alley and finished the job. The photo below shows the much cleaner length of chain link fence we have now.

clean fence

And I can log this as today's fresh air workout. As those of you who use the old fashioned manual hedge clippers know, they do work the arm, shoulder, and chest muscles.

The adventure continues.


Published on 01 August 2020, ~18:15 CDT, this is my post number 51/100/365 of the https://100daystooffload.com blogging challenge.

#100DaysToOffload #health #SeniorLiving #SevenTwoProject #photograph #yardwork #blog #RoscoeEllis


by Roscoe

After cleaning up the poop...

17 March 2020 – 13:00

... left on my front walk by that horrible old man's dog, I decided, “What the heck, as long as I'm out here with rough clothes on,” that it would be good to get some more yard work done.

I had already mowed a patch of the highest grass prior to taking care of the “poopy” chore. So now I hauled out the weedeater, the blower, and a couple of hand trowels...

Yard tools

... and got to work. And I must admit that after that bit of mowing, and cleaning, some trimming, uprooting a few obnoxious weeds, and blowing the sidewalk and driveway clean, things do look (and smell) a bit better out front.

#SeniorLiving #chores #yardwork #SevenTwoProject


by Roscoe